Skip to main content

B.0 Pharmaceutical Sciences: B.2 Pharmacognosy and Natural Products

AACP

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Total synthesis of natural products. New York: Wiley, 1973-1999. ISBN. Vol. 1-11, $2860.00.

none

 

*Trease and Evans' pharmacognosy. 16th ed. Edinburgh, Scotland: Saunders, 2009. ISBN: 9780702029332. $126.00.

Have print

 

*Awang, Dennis V.C. Tyler's herbs of choice: the therapeutic use of phytomedicinals. 3rd ed. BocaRaton, FL: CRC Press, 2009. ISBN: 0789028093. $109.95.

Have print

 

Colegate, Steven M.; Molyneux, Russell J., eds. Bioactive natural products: detection, isolation, and structural determination. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2007. ISBN: 9780849372582. $226.95

none

 

DerMarderosian, Ara; Beutler, John A., eds. Review of natural products. 6th ed. St. Louis: Facts & Comparisons, 2010. ISBN: 1574393146. $86.95. Available in a variety of formats.

Have as part of database Facts & Comparisons

 

Hanson, Bryan, ed. Understanding medicinal plants: their chemistry and therapeutic action. New York, NY: Routledge, 2005. ISBN: 9780789015518. $175.00.

Have print

 

Heinrich, Michael; Barnes, Joanne; Gibbons, Simon, et al. Fundamentals of pharmacognosy and phytotherapy. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone, 2012. ISBN: 9780702033889. $57.95.

Have print

 

Houghton, Peter; and Mukherjee, Pulok K. Evaluation of herbal medicinal products: Perspectives on quality, safety and efficacy. London: Pharmaceutical Press; 2009. $161.80.

none

Kayne, Steven. Homeopathic pharmacy: an introduction and handbook. 2nd ed. New York: Churchill Livingstone, 2006. ISBN: 9780443101601. $79.95.

Have ebook (ScienceDirect)

 

Li, Jie Jack; Corey, E.J., eds. Total synthesis of natural products: at the frontiers of organic chemistry. Berlin: Springer, 2012. ISBN: 9783642340642. $129.00.

none

Miller, Lucinda G.; Murray, Wallace J., eds. Herbal medicinals: a clinician's guide. New York, NY: Informa Healthcare, 1999. ISBN: 9780789004673. $39.95.

Have print

 

Natural Standard. Herb & supplement guide: evidence based reference. St. Louis, MO: Mosby, 2010. ISBN: 9780323072953. $74.95 available in a variety of formats. Free patient edition available through MedlinePlus: drugs and supplements section.

Have print

 

Rotblatt, Michael; Ziment, Irwin, eds. Evidence-based herbal medicine. Philadelphia, PA: Hanley & Belfus, 2002. ISBN: 9781560534471. $48.95.

none

Tracy, Timothy S; and Kingston, Richard L. Herbal Products Toxicology and Clinical Pharmacology. 2nd ed. Totowa, NJ: Humana Press, 2007. ISBN: 9781588293138. $159.00 and up depending on format

none

Lam, Y.W.F.; Huang, S.M.; and Hall, S.D., eds. Herbal Supplements – Drug Interactions. Scientific and Regulatory Perspectives. New York, NY: Taylor and Francis, 2006. ISBN: 9780824725389. $159.95.

Have print

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Duke's handbook of medicinal plants of the Bible. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2007. ISBN: 9780849382024. $97.95.

None

Duke, James A. Herbs of the Bible: 2000 years of plant medicine. 2nd ed. Winona Lake, IN: Wendell Whitman, 2007. ISBN: 9781885653161. $34.95.

None

Dymock, William; Warden, C. J. H.; Hooper, David. Pharmacographia indica: a history of principal drugs of vegetable origin. New Delhi, India: Low Price Publications, 1995. ISBN: 9788186142639. $200.00 (set). o.p.

None

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Blumenthal, Mark; Goldberg, Alicia; Brinckmann, Josef, eds. Herbal medicine: expanded Commission E monographs. Newton, MA: Integrative Medicine Communications, 2000. ISBN: 9780967077239. $59.95.

Have print: The complete German Commission E monographs, Therapeutic guide to herbalmedicines

 

Cupp, Melanie J.; Tracy, Timothy S., ed. Dietary supplements: toxicology and clinical pharmacology. Totowa, NJ: Humana, 2003. ISBN: 9781588290144. $119.00.

None

Huang, Kee Chang; Williams, W. Michael. The pharmacology of Chinese herbs. 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1999. ISBN: 9780849316654. $226.95.

None

Nigg, Herbert N.; Seigler, David, eds. Phytochemical resources for medicine and agriculture. New York, NY: Plenum, 1992. ISBN: 9780306442452. $285.00.

None

Tsumura, Akira. Kampo: how the Japanese updated traditional herbal medicine. New York, NY: Japan Publications, 1991. ISBN: 9780870407925. $29.95.

None

von Reis, Siri; Lipp, Frank J., Jr. New plant sources for drugs and foods from the New York Botanical Garden herbarium. Cambridge, MA: Harvard, 1982. ISBN: 9780674617650. $65.00.

None

Weiss, Rudolf Fritz; Fintelmann, Volker. Herbal medicine. 2nd rev. ed. Stuttgart, Germany: Thieme Medical Publishers, Inc., 2000. ISBN: 9780865779709. $69.95.

None

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

AltMedDex system. Greenwood Village, CO: Thomson MICROMEDEX, updated quarterly. MICROMEDEX products available to schools of pharmacy without charge when limited to teaching purposes, not clinical use. Available on CD-ROM and online. URL: http://www.micromedex.com/products/altmeddexprotocols/

Have as part of database Micromedez

 

Barnes, Joann; Anderson, Linda A.; Phillipson, J. David. Herbal medicines. 4th ed. London, England: Pharmaceutical Press, 2013. ISBN: 978-0857110350. $129.99. Available in a variety of formats.

Have print

 

Duke, James A.; Bogenschulz-Godwin, Mary Jo; Duke, Peggy-Ann K. Handbook of medicinal herbs. 2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2002. ISBN: 9780849312847. $267.95.

none

 

Duke, James A.; Foster, Steven; Peterson, Roger Tory, eds. Field guide to medicinal plants and herbs: of eastern and central North America. Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin, 1999. ISBN: 9780395988145. $19.00.

Have e-book

 

*Khan, Ikhlas A; Abourashed, Ehab A. Leung’s encyclopedia of common natural ingredients used in food, drugs, and cosmetics. 3rd ed. New York, NY: Wiley, 2010. ISBN: 9780471467434. $159.00.

Have ebook - ebrary

 

Mills, Edward; Dugoua, Jean-Jacques; Perri, Dan; Koren, Gideon. Herbal medicines in pregnancy and lactation: an evidence-based approach. Boca Raton, FL: Informa Healthcare, 2006. ISBN:9780415373920. $159.95.

none

 

Ross, Ivan A. Medicinal plants of the world: chemical constituents, traditional and modern medicinal uses. 2nd ed. Totowa, NJ: Humana, 2003-. ISBN: 9781588292810 (vol. 1); 9780896038776 (vol. 2); 9781588291295, (vol. 3). Vol. 1,3, $169.00 each; vol. 2 $199.00.

Have volume 1 in print

 

Wichtl, Max, ed. Herbal drugs and phytopharmaceuticals: a handbook for practice on a scientific basis. 3rd rev. ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2004. ISBN: 9780849319617. $324.95.

none

 

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Tyler's honest herbal: a sensible guide to the use of herbs and related remedies. 5th ed. New York, NY: Routledge, 2007. ISBN: 978-0789031471. $165.00.

Have 4th ed in print

5th ed OP

 

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Mathieu, Mark, ed. Biologics development: a regulatory overview. 3rd ed. Centreville, VA: Barnett Educational, 2004. ISBN: 9781882615674. $145.00.

none

 

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Upton, Roy; Graff, Alison; Jolliffe, Georgina, et al., eds. American Herbal Pharmacopoeia: Botanical Pharmacognosy - Microscopic Characterization of Botanical Medicines. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2011. ISBN: 9781420073263. $169.95.

none

 

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

Wagner, Hildebert H.; Bladt, Sabine. Plant drug analysis: a thin layer chromatography atlas. 2nd ed. New York, NY: Springer, 1996. ISBN: 9783642005732. $129.00

none

 

​June 2014 Update

Title

Holdings

American Botanical Council. Includes online Commission E monographs, Herbalgram, ABC Clinical Guide. Austin, TX. URL: http://abc.herbalgram.org/

n/a

 

American Society of Pharmacognosy. The Society. URL: http://www.phcog.org/  

n/a

 

Dietary supplements labels database: brands, ingredients, and references: U. S. National Library of Medicine. Free. URL: http://dietarysupplements.nlm.nih.gov/dietary/  

n/a

 

DrugDigest: herbs and supplements. Express Scripts, updated daily. URL: http://www.drugdigest.org/DD/DVH/Herbs/0,3913,,00.html  

n/a

 

MedlinePlus. Herbs and supplements. National Library of Medicine. URL:http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/herb_All.html  

n/a

 

*Jellin, Jeff, ed. Natural medicines comprehensive database. Stockton, CA: Therapeutic Research Center, annual. $92.00 year; $59.00 for single user, if ordered with Yearly Web or PDA; available in a variety of formats.

none

National Institutes of Health. Office of Dietary Supplements. NIH. URL: http://ods.od.nih.gov  

n/a

 

United States Pharmacopeial Convention. USP verification services. Rockville, MD: United States

have

Pharmacopeial Convention. URL: http://www.usp.org/USPVerified/  

n/a

 

Loading ...