LibGuides: Physician Assistant Resources: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

MEDLINE - PubMed (free site) This link opens in a new window
***Use this to link to Pacific's full text journals***
MEDLINE - Ovid This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,999+ biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 13 million citations dating back to the mid-1960s.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 317 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, or Nursing & Allied Health Collection.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is a full text database covering sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sports administration, officiating, sports law and legislation, college and university sports, disabled persons, facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sports and exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Behavioral Health topics

PA Databases (all designated)
Here is a link to all databases identified (by librarians) to be relevant to PA.

Each database indexes a set list of journals.

There is overlap of coverage. But each of these databases indexes unique journals.

If the journal is not indexed in the database you select you will not find articles from it.

You may need to search more than 1 database to complete your search.

Disconnect between the article reference/citation and the article itself.

These databases provide you with enough information to get the article, etc.

Do not necessarily have the full text. You may need to go out of the database to obtain the article, etc. itself.

These databases all have the Total Access @ Pacific Link on each citation.

Follow the link to

link to the journal in electronic format

link to our Interlibrary Loan department if we do not have it in electronic or print