Skip to main content

Alumni Access Draft: EBM - General - Free Resources

General

Clinical Trials Register

  • Search by disease/condition

  • Information about clinical trials 88,119 trials with locations in 172 countries.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

Cochrane Collaboration

  • It produces and disseminates systematic reviews of healthcare interventions and promotes the search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of interventions.
  • The major product of the Collaboration is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews which is published quarterly as part of The Cochrane Library.
  • Free access to systematic reviews summaries by topic or title
    • Full text of the systematic reviews is NOT available here, you need to obtain elsewhere
  • Link to one of the Cochrane Review Groups.  There you can see what each Group is working on.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)

  • Evidence-based research from multiple source
  • Information

PILOTS

  • Worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Information

PsycBITE

  • Evidence-based information for acquired brain impairment
  • Information

Netting the Evidence -

  • A massive list by Andrew Booth of the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) of the University of Sheffield

The CATbank

  •   This is a creation, storage and retrieval facility for a collection of Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) from the Oxford Centre for Evidence-based Medicine. You can browse CATs and NNTs (Number Needed to Treat). Information for getting a copy of CATmaker shareware is available on the page.

EBM Toolbox

  • This includes pre-test probabilities, SpPins and SnNouts, Likelihood Ratios, Numbers Needed to Treat, and Prognosis from the Oxford Centre for Evidence Based Medicine.

EvidenceUpdates (BMJ )  

  • Incorporates the McMaster PLUS email alerting system and searchable database of best evidence from the medical literature.
  • Users of EvidenceUpdates with interests in a specific clinical problem or treatment are invited to use the openly accessible search engine to look up topics covered in the McMaster PLUS database published as far back as 2002.
  • Physicians who are in general practice or primary care, internal medicine or its subspecialties are invited to register their interests so that they can receive email alerts and searching access for literature that is matched to their personal clinical interests.

health-evidence.ca

  • (McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit )
  •   aims to support evidence-informed decision making in public health by providing current research evidence in a searchable online registry. Findings of a research project funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, demonstrated a need for a reliable source of review evidence that public health practitioners and decision-makers could easily access and employ.
  •  All articles are not full text

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide