Skip to main content

Alumni Access Draft: EBM - Psychology - Free Resources

Psychology Evidence Based Practice

Practice Guidelines - Am Psychiatric Association

  • The American Psychiatric Association (APA) Practice Guidelines and the Quick Reference Guides are not intended to be construed or to serve as a standard of medical care. Standards of medical care are determined on the basis of all clinical data available
  • APA guidelines describe treatment of adult patients. For the treatment of children and adolescents with psychiatric disorders, practice parameters are available from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • APA makes the practice guidelines freely available to promote their dissemination and use; however, copyright protections are enforced in full.

Practice Parameters – American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

  • Designed to assist clinicians in providing high quality assessment and treatment for children and adolescents that is consistent with the best available scientific evidence and clinical consensus.
  • Describes generally accepted practices, but are not intended to define a standard of care, nor should they be deemed inclusive of all proper methods of care or exclusive of other legitimate methods of care directed at obtaining the desired results. The ultimate judgment regarding the care of a patient and family must be made by the clinician in light of all of the clinical evidence presented by the patient and family, the diagnostic and treatment options available, and available resources.

Research-Supported Psychological Treatments Website

  • APA's Division 12 (Society for Clinical Psychology) list of empirically supported treatments.
  • Provides information about effective treatments for psychological disorders. The website is meant for a wide audience, including the general public, practitioners, researchers, and students. Basic descriptions are provided for each psychological disorder and treatment. In addition, for each treatment, the website lists key references, clinical resources, and training opportunities.
  • Describes the research evidence for psychological treatments, which will necessarily be combined with clinician expertise and patient values and characteristics in determining optimum approaches to treatment.

 

Centre for Medical Psychology & Evidence-based Decision-making (Australia)

  • Research Focus: CeMPED's mission is to support excellent research across the interface of Psychology, Medicine and Public Health to answer questions about: the behavioural factors which promote good health and prevent disease; ways to enhance the psychosocial adjustment of patients and carers; ways to increase use of evidence in health care decision making; and ways to support patients to be more involved in their own health care. CeMPED's research strengths lie in three themes: Doctor-patient communication; Evidence-based, shared decision making; and Psycho-Oncology.

“Treatments That Work” Books - Oxford Univ Press 

  • This is a link to a useful series of books.
  • If you find a book that you wish to read, contact your local library.

Cochrane Collaboration

  • Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
  • Contact your local library to see the full text. 

 

 

Subject Guide