Skip to main content

Alumni Access Draft: MHA

Evidence Based Practice

Clinical Trials Register

National Guideline Clearinghouse

Cochrane Collaboration

  • It produces and disseminates systematic reviews of healthcare interventions and promotes the search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of interventions.
  • The major product of the Collaboration is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews which is published quarterly as part of The Cochrane Library.
  • Free access to systematic reviews summaries by topic or title
    • Full text of the systematic reviews is NOT available here, you need to obtain elsewhere
  • Link to one of the Cochrane Review Groups.  There you can see what each Group is working on.

Free Databases

Pubmed

  • "Free to all" version of Medline
  • Pubmed Quickstart
  • Set up auto alerts

Dirline: Directory of Information Resources Online

  • NLM database containing location and descriptive information about a wide variety of information resources including organizations, research resources, projects, and databases concerned with health and biomedicine.

Health Sciences Online

  • Collection of top-quality courses and references in medicine, public health, pharmacy, dentistry, nursing, basic sciences, and other health sciences disciplines. These materials (currently numbering >50,000 resources) are hand-selected by clinicians and other experts from already-existing reliable sources and resource collections

HSSR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)

  • NLM searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, the Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources. HSRR is not a repository of the actual resources.
  • HSRR includes clinical records, discharge summaries, claims records, epidemiological surveys, health/ behavioral/ social surveys, disease registries, birth registries, and data about practitioners, programs, and facilities.

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)

  • Provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people
  • Topics include: Diseases and Conditions, Health Care and Insurance, Injuries, Life Stages and Populations, and many more http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/default.htm