Skip to main content

Alumni Access Draft: SPP

Psychology Evidence Based Practice

Practice Guidelines - Am Psychiatric Association

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) Practice Guidelines and the Quick Reference Guides are not intended to be construed or to serve as a standard of medical care. Standards of medical care are determined on the basis of all clinical data available
APA guidelines describe treatment of adult patients. For the treatment of children and adolescents with psychiatric disorders, practice parameters are available from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

APA makes the practice guidelines freely available to promote their dissemination and use; however, copyright protections are enforced in full. 

Practice Parameters – American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Designed to assist clinicians in providing high quality assessment and treatment for children and adolescents that is consistent with the best available scientific evidence and clinical consensus.

Describes generally accepted practices, but are not intended to define a standard of care, nor should they be deemed inclusive of all proper methods of care or exclusive of other legitimate methods of care directed at obtaining the desired results. The ultimate judgment regarding the care of a patient and family must be made by the clinician in light of all of the clinical evidence presented by the patient and family, the diagnostic and treatment options available, and available resources.

Research-Supported Psychological Treatments Website

APA's Division 12 (Society for Clinical Psychology) list of empirically supported treatments.
Provides information about effective treatments for psychological disorders. The website is meant for a wide audience, including the general public, practitioners, researchers, and students. Basic descriptions are provided for each psychological disorder and treatment. In addition, for each treatment, the website lists key references, clinical resources, and training opportunities.
Describes the research evidence for psychological treatments, which will necessarily be combined with clinician expertise and patient values and characteristics in determining optimum approaches to treatment.

 “Treatments That Work” Books - Oxford Univ Press 

This is a link to a useful series of books.
If you find a book that you wish to read, contact your local library.

Cochrane Collaboration

Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Contact your local library to see the full text. 

Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) FastStats: Mental Health.

This easy-to-use Web site provides simple access to basic mental health statistics. The More Data section includes statistical surveys and publications like Depression in the United States Household Population; access to the mental health trend tables from Health, United States; and more. Data sets are available for downloading and searching.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Mental Health Work Group: Data and Statistics.

Reports data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), which can be used to build tables to review nationwide or state trends from 1993 to 2007; on health-related quality of life; and from the annually conducted National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), which has data on mental health and psychological stress measures. Many of the data from these special reports are around ten years old.

Childstats.gov.

 Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site serves as a portal to an assortment of data on children and families reported by 22 different government agencies. “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being” is an annual online publication of the Forum. Users can view the full report or scan through its highlights. In addition to demographic statistics, data are available on topics such as emotional and behavioral difficulties, health care, family and social environment, and more.

National Institutes for Mental Health: Statistics.

This site is useful for the researcher who needs to perform a quick look up. Science News about Statistics features press releases that contain statistics on mental illness from government sources and periodical articles. Publications about Statistics highlights online publications on mental health statistics such as “The Numbers Count: Mental Disorders in America.” This site contains good summary information and fact sheets.

SAMHSA’s National Mental Health Information Center (NMHIC): Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS): Mental Health Statistics.

Includes Mental Health United States for 2000–2004 and statistics on mental health services offered in the United States. Also available are output tables of the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) Uniform Reporting System, Characteristics of State Mental Health Agency Data Systems and Projections of National Expenditures for Mental Health Services and Substance Abuse Treatment, 2004–2014. Related Links takes you to a directory listing of mental health statistics from other programs and organizations.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Office of Applied Studies: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics.

SAMHSA collects and reports the majority of mental health statistics for the United States, and its Office of Applied Statistics site includes data on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use in addition to mental health statistics. Includes reports on the population suffering from psychological distress as well as data on mental health treatment. Short reports created from surveys, such as the National Survey on Drug Use and Health, and complete access to data sets from the OAS Data Systems are included.

World Health Organization (WHO): Mental Health Atlas.

WHO collects and reports statistics on well-being, mental health and neurological disorders from around the world. Global and regional reports, country profiles, and data on mental health law, policy, mental health care professionals and resources by country are available. Availability of mental health disorder statistics will vary from country to country. The atlas provides information on where to get more detailed data for nations which collect mental health statistics.

SAMHDA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive.

Hosted by the Inter-University Consortium for Social and Political Research (ICPSR), SAMHDA contains raw data-sets from SAMHSA, codebooks, survey instruments, and tutorials. Popular data sets are listed on the top page, and users can also search across SAMHDA and ICPSR data sets for more. Information on the SAMHDA site is publicly available, but some ICPSR data requires membership. If printed reports are needed, use SAMHSA’s OAS site, or most of the other resources mentioned in this section.

 

Databases

Medline Pubmed

  • "Free to all" version of Medline
  • Pubmed Quickstart
  • Set up auto alerts

Eric (Free Version)

  • To find tests, use the advanced search, type a broad keyword into the search box, then select "tests/questionnaires" from the publication type menu.

Tests & Measurements

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes

Educational Testing Service Test Collection  

An online searchable index of tests from ETS; no full text

Contains over 25,000 published and unpublished educational tests giving a brief description, abstract, and source for each of the tests. Over 1200 Tests on Demand are downloadable for $25 per test.

Tests Reviews Online

Reviews of commercially available tests and measurement instruments, including current publisher information.

Finds information about the test, not the test itself

From the organization that produces Mental Measurements Yearbook

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections

Research Connections indexes a variety of data collection instruments and measures relevant to child care and early education research to help researchers and policy makers evaluate existing studies and develop new research and evaluation projects.

Instruments indexed by Research Connections are from studies following quantitative research methodologies (i.e., observational inventories and checklists, surveys, indexes, scales, typologies, assessments) and those using qualitative methodologies (i.e., free lists, pile sorts, and protocols for in-depth, semi-structured, and structured interviews, focus group interviews, as well as for unobtrusive and/or participant observations)

HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources) (NLM)

Contains a description and the source (some linked) for over 150 tests, along with an additional link to PubMed references for some.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes.

This is simply a list of some of the tests that can be found quickly in compilation volumes available in many libraries. This site was designed as a service to locate tests, measures, instruments, etc. when there is a known title and a copy of the test is desired.

Enter your search topic with the terms "compilation volumes," as in [creativity "compilation volumes"]. The second line of the result entry provides the title of the test, while the first line links to the information about the book.

Eric (Free Version)

To find tests, use the advanced search, type a broad keyword into the search box, then select "tests/questionnaires" from the publication type menu.