Skip to main content

Alumni Access Draft: OT

Professional Access

Check into your professional organizations (AOTA and others).  A membership may include free or low cost access to resources and services.

Low Cost Databases

OT Search

  • If AOTA Member - $75/yr
  • If non-AOTA member - $200/yr

OTDbase

  • contains over 5000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dating from 1970 to the present.
  • List of journals indexed
  • individual membership - $50 (US)/year

Free Databases

Pubmed

  • "Free to all" version of Medline
  • Pubmed Quickstart
  • Set up auto alerts

ERIC

  • World's largest digital library of education literature.
    Indexes
  • over 1,000+ educational journals
  • 107,000+ ERIC documents (1993-present)

O*Net

  • The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions, such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training with current workplace needs. Information in O*NET is available for over 950 occupations. Each occupational title and code is based on the most current version (1999) of the Standard Occupational Classification system."
  • Created for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration, by the National Center for O*NET Development

EBM - Free Resource - OT - CATs

A critically appraised topic (or CAT) is a short summary of evidence on a topic of interest, usually focussed around a clinical question. A CAT is like a shorter and less rigorous version of a systematic review, summarising the best available research evidence on a topic.

 

EBM - Free Resource - OT - Databases

OTSeeker: Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence

  • Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.

OT Education Finder – Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists

  • An index to the periodicals of the Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Now  -  1998-present. Membership is required to access the periodicals but individual papers can be purchased and downloaded as pdfs.
  • Information Gateway provides relevant links to evidence-based practice.
  • The "tools and resources" section helps to guide the clinician through the evidence-based practice process.

Rehab Trials.org

  • RehabTrials is a registry of randomised controlled trials related to rehabilitation.
  • Populations include people with spinal cord injury, stroke, traumatic brain injury, amputations, and studies with both adults and children.
  • Interventions studied include technology and equipment, pressure garments, cushions, and constraint induced movement therapy.

PEDro

  • A project of the Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (Cochrane Collaboration), this is a searchable database of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

PsychBITE

  • PsycBITE is a free evidence database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment.
  • Types of studies are: systematic reviews, RCTS, non-RCTs, case series, and single case experimental designs.