Skip to main content

Audiology

What You Will Find

Each database indexes a set list of journals.

There is overlap of coverage. But each of these databases indexes unique journals.

If the journal is not indexed in the database you select you will not find articles from it.

You may need to search more than 1 database to complete your search.

 

Index NOT Full-Text

Disconnect between the article reference/citation and the article itself.

These databases provide you with enough information to get the article, etc.

Do not necessarily have the full text. You may need to go out of the database to obtain the article, etc. itself.

These databases all have the Total Access @ Pacific Link on each citation.

Follow the link to

link to the journal in electronic format

link to the catalog to see if we have the journal in print format

link to our Interlibrary Loan department if we do not have it in electronic or print

 

Audiology Databases/Indexes

Major Citation Databases

Expand your search by using these databases to link to references and cited references.

Where to Start

There are a number of databases to use to find journal articles related to Audiology.

A good point to start is one of the major medical or subject databases depending on what your topic of research is.

  • Medline, CINAHL, PsycINFO, Ageline, Sociological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts  - note the subject headings used in your topic area.

Next expand your search in one of the multi-disciplinary citation databases (there is no full-text within these databases but they will link out to our other databases to retrieve full text.

  • Web of Science or Google Scholar.

Depending on your topic try the other groups of databases.

Clinical managemant, point of care databases

  • Clinical Key, AccessMedicine, or UpToDate.

Other topic specific databases as listed in Databases for Audiology.

  • ENT & Audiology Specialist Library, REHABDATA, CIRRIE, Biomed Central, PSYbite

To see what literature reviews have been done in audiology go to

  • Cochrane Library or TRIP - (see Evidence Based Databases list.)

Finally check out some of the Full-text databases - collections of publisher's electronic journals that contain full-text of Audiology journals. 

  • EBSCO Academic Search Premere, Science Direct, Wiley Online Library.

What is Peer Reviewed?

Read a description on what peer review means.