LibGuides: CSD Library Resources: Articles

Databases

ASHA Evidence Maps
Guidelines and studies organized by topic with quality appraisals by the ASHA.
ASHA Wire
Search ASHA publications

MEDLINE - PubMed (free site) This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which includes MEDLINE, the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
ComDisDome indexes periodicals with coverage in audiology, communication, hearing and related disciplines.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 317 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, or Nursing & Allied Health Collection.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports on social gerontology from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, evonomics, and public policy. Original abstracts are available for every citation and index terms are from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging Terminology.
APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, APA PsycInfo® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
speechBITE (free site) This link opens in a new window
This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Pacific University Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.

SpeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC indexes not only periodicals but also other education-related resources. Full text is available in many instances.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Some articles are available in full-text from Pacific University’s journal subscriptions via the Get full text article link.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier indexes over 13,000 periodicals with coverage in the social sciences, humanities, education, physical sciences, technology, medicine, etc. Full text is available for nearly 5,000 titles.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.

Is this Journal Peer Reviewed?

Scholarly, Professional, Popular?

The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.

Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.

Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.

Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.