EDU: Library Resources/Services: Article databases
To access databases
- Visit http://www.lib.pacificu.edu
- Click the Databases icon
- The databases are arranged two ways:
- Database subjects are by department/discipline. After clicking education, for example, you will see a list of databases that are related to education.
- Browse by title is by the specific name of the database
Note: Even though you are an education student, the database subject(s) you select will depend on the topic of your research. If you are researching Alzheimer’s disease, you would search the databases in the business, economics, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and gerontology disciplines.
Article Databases
-
Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference resources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic Onefile is authoritative and comprehensive.
-
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database for more than 4,655 scholarly publications, including more than 3,604 full-text, peer-reviewed publications. It indexes about 8,500 titles overall.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982Includes: All the information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals in a single database; access to over three million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
Suggested education databases
-
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest indexes and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses submitted by participating colleges and universities.
-
Dissertation and Theses Quick Start GuideThis Quick Start Guide will help use and access full-text dissertations.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text education journals, Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
-
Education Source Quick Start GuideThis Quick Start Guide will help you navigate using Education Source.
-
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowERIC indexes not only periodicals but also other education-related resources. Full text is available in many instances.
Please be advised that changes to the Department of Education may affect the content and indexing services of ERIC. These changes may result in a journal you’re looking to use being unavailable. Please contact the library or use InterLibraryLoan should you find that the resource you need is unavailable.
-
ERIC (EBSCOhost) Quick Start GuideThis Quick Start Guide will help you navigate ERIC.
-
Teacher Reference Center (free database) This link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center is an index of over 280+ titles (96% are peer-reviewed) from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, magazines, and books.