Music Therapy Research
Theory and Research
NOTE: The links in this guide do not work; they are in the process of being updated. However, the library most likely does have all of these resources. Just search for them by title in the library catalog to place holds or access ebooks. We apologize for the inconvenience.
This is not a comprehensive list of works or subjects, but is intended as a representative sample of what is available.
This page includes selected resources, linked to the library catalog.
A downloadable PDF version of the resource lists is also provided.
-
Advanced Methods of Music Therapy Practice: Analytical Music Therapy, the Bonny Method of Guided Imagery and Music, Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy, and Vocal Psychotherapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .C64 2018ISBN: 9781849057769Publication Date: 2018Based on new research and interviews with leading practitioners, the book describes the differences, similarities, relationships, and trends between the methods. -
Analytical Music Therapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .A73 2002ISBN: 9781843100584Publication Date: 2002Brings together the professional experiences of eminent analytical music therapists from Europe and the USA. The book examines the origins and theory of AMT (including a contribution on the subject from Mary Priestley), before exploring its uses in various contexts. -
Basic Anatomy and Physiology for the Music Therapist
by
Call Number: QM23.2 .S36 2015ISBN: 9781849057561Publication Date: 2015Providing need-to-know information about the human body for music therapists, this book covers the elements of anatomy and physiology that are of particular relevance to clinical practice. -
Bio-Guided Music Therapy: A Practitioner's Guide to the Clinical Integration of Music and Biofeedback
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M57 2011ISBN: 9781849058445Publication Date: 2011Explores the clinical integration of music and biofeedback, providing the practitioner with a rationale, historical context and detailed step-by-step instructions for implementing real-time physiological data driven music therapy. -
Constructing Musical Healing: The Wounds That Heal
by
Call Number: ML3920 .T55 2000ISBN: 1853024848Publication Date: 2000Looks at musical traditions and notions of healing in different societies. -
Developments in Music Therapy Practice: Case Study Perspectives
by
Call Number: ML3920 .D48 2011ISBN: 9781891278754Publication Date: 2011Models described include Guided Imagery and Music, Analytical Music Therapy, Behavioral Music Therapy, and Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy. -
Emotional Processes in Music Therapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .P355 2009ISBN: 9781891278518Publication Date: 2009A description of the psychological and physiological dimensions of emotions as they relate to music experiences, and how affective processes can be used in music therapy. -
Feminist Perspectives in Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .F464 2006ISBN: 9781891278389Publication Date: 2006Includes an overview, as well as specific approaches and clinical applications. -
Healing Songs
by
Call Number: ML3920 .G56 2006ISBN: 0822337029Publication Date: 2006-04-13Gioia's inquiry into the restorative powers of sound moves from the history of shamanism to the role of Orpheus as a mythical figure linking Eastern and Western ideas about therapeutic music, and from Native American healing ceremonies to what clinical studies can reveal about the efficacy of contemporary methods of sonic healing. -
IMCAP-ND: Individual Music-Centered Assessment Profile for Neurodevelopmental Disorders
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .C37 2013ISBN: 9780989179003Publication Date: 2013Includes protocols, supportive intervention procedures, rating scales, intake forms, and an assessment/evaluation report template. -
International Perspectives in Music Therapy Education and Training: Adapting to a Changing World
by
Call Number: ML3920 .I55 2015ISBN: 9780398081171Publication Date: 2015Divided into three parts, chapters interrelate to consider program design, multicultural identity and the ongoing and emerging needs of a discipline. -
Music As Medicine
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M8964 2000ISBN: 1840142995Publication Date: 2000Music, whether performed or heard, has been seen as therapeutic in many cultures. This volume addresses which cultures used music therapy, what their aims and techniques were, and how much continuity there is between ancient and modern. -
Music Therapy: Group Vignettes
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B558 1997ISBN: 0962408093Publication Date: 1997An experienced music therapist presents his approach to group work through detailed transcripts of actual sessions along with frank discussions of his thoughts and feelings while leading each group. -
MusicMedicine
by
Call Number: ML3920 .I57 1994ISBN: 9780918812896Publication Date: 1994Partial Contents: I. Music, physiology, and physics -- II. Music, specific populations, and therapy -- III. Performing arts medicine -- IV. Professional issues and theoretical perspectives in MusicMedicine. -
Music and Soulmaking
by
Call Number: ML3920 .C898 2004ISBN: 0810851431Publication Date: 2004The author discusses connections between music therapy and theorizes that every little nuance found in nature is part of a dynamic system in motion. -
Music and Consciousness: The Evolution of Guided Imagery and Music
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .B557 2002ISBN: 9781891278105Publication Date: 2002A comprehensive anthology of the published and unpublished writings and speeches of Helen Lindquist Bonny.
-
The Music in Music Therapy: Psychodynamic Music Therapy in Europe: Clinical, Theoretical, and Research Approaches
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M8967 2014ISBN: 9781849053532Publication Date: 2014This text comprises of a wide range of thinking from across Europe, stressing how essential the musician is within the identity of a music therapist. With examples and clinical case material from across Europe, the editors provide insight into the aspects of the therapeutic process which are enabled by music. -
Music Therapy: A Perspective From the Humanities
by
Call Number: ML3920 .R96 2010ISBN: 9781891278549Publication Date: 2010Contents: The tradition from the humanities -- The relational turn -- Musical identity in a developmental perspective -- Musical meaning in music therapy -- Dimensions of aesthetics in music therapy -- Enabling and empowerment -- Health and quality of life -- Systemic aspects -- Reflexivity and the philosophy of science -- Musicking as self-care. -
Music Therapy: Improvisation, Communication, and Culture
by
Call Number: ML3920 .R95 1998ISBN: 1891278045Publication Date: 1998Series of essays designed to expand existing concepts of music therapy theory, practice, and research. -
Music Therapy Research
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M8996 2016ISBN: 9781937440886Publication Date: 2016A description of objectivist and interpretivist research in music therapy, guided by the recommendations of a diverse group of experienced music therapists.
-
Music Therapy Supervision
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M875 2001ISBN: 1891278118Publication Date: 2001A comprehensive examination of the many levels and facets of music therapy supervision. -
Music, the Breath and Health: Advances in Integrative Music Therapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M875 2009ISBN: 9780980135527Publication Date: 2009In this book, contributors from music therapy, medicine and related healthcare professions offer clinical methods and research on music, the breath and health across a variety of populations.
-
Psychodynamic Music Therapy: Case Studies
by
Call Number: ML3920 .P75 2003xISBN: 9781891278167Publication Date: 2003A collection of 21 case studies exemplifying psychodynamic music therapy, informed variously by the theories of Freud, Jung, Klein, Winnicott, Stern, Kohut, Mahler, Bion, and others.
-
Relational Music Therapy: An Intersubjective Perspective
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .T76 2016ISBN: 1937440184Publication Date: 2016An exploration of the myriad relational dimensions of music therapy. An intersubjective perspective is highlighted in examining how therapeutic change may come about though non-verbal relational processes at a micro-level.
-
Resource-Oriented Music Therapy in Mental Health Care
by
Call Number: ML3920 .R65 2010ISBN: 9781891278556Publication Date: 2010Offers a theoretical and empirical exploration of the idea that therapy is as much about stimulating clients' strengths as it is about fixing problems or curing pathology. -
Singing and Wellbeing: Ancient Wisdom, Modern Proof
by
Call Number: ML3920 .N678 2016ISBN: 113882531XPublication Date: 2016A largely un-tapped resource in the health care professions, the singing voice offers rewards that are closer than ever to being fully quantified by advances in neuroscience and psychology. -
Voicework in Music Therapy: Research and Practice
by
Call Number: ML3920 .V62 2011ISBN: 9781849051651Publication Date: 2011Offers detailed descriptions of clinical methods that are grounded in research.
