Music Therapy Research
Particular Client Needs
NOTE: The links in this guide do not work; they are in the process of being updated. However, the library most likely does have all of these resources. Just search for them by title in the library catalog to place holds or access ebooks. We apologize for the inconvenience.
This list is divided into the following sections: Children, Adults and Older Adults, Caregivers and Families, Dementia and Memory Loss, End of Life, Neurological and Psychiatric Treatment, Disabilities and Illnesses.
This is not a comprehensive list of works or subjects, but is intended as a representative sample of what is available.
This page includes selected resources, linked to the library catalog.
A downloadable PDF version of the resource lists is also provided.
Children
-
Adolescents, Music and Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M315 2010ISBN: 9781849050197Publication Date: 2010The author presents an empowering approach to music therapy with adolescents that places the therapist in a collaborative relationship with the individual or group. A range of strategies are explored, including song sharing and improvisation. -
Early Childhood Music Therapy and Autism Spectrum Disorders: Developing Potential in Young Children and Their Families
by
Call Number: ML3920 .E23 2012ISBN: 9781849052412Publication Date: 2012Music therapists wishing to conduct family-centred practice and to support parents in integrating music into home routines will find information, together with insights from music therapists who are parents of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). -
Hearing, Feeling, Playing: Music and Movement of Hard-of-Hearing and Deaf Children
by
Call Number: MT17 .H43 2008ISBN: 9783895006210Publication Date: 2008Different educational and therapeutic approaches using music and/or movement relevant to different age groups are described and extended in reports on music and movement with various groups from preschool children and family projects, to school children and teenagers. -
Kids, Music 'n' Autism: Bringing Out the Music in Your Child
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection MT17 .B47 2017ISBN: 9781785927164Publication Date: 2017Dr Berger draws on her many years of experience in music-based clinical work, teaching and coaching, to answer common questions regarding musical interactions for children with autism. -
Music Therapy for Premature and Newborn Infants
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M875 2004ISBN: 9781891278204Publication Date: 2004 -
Music Therapy with Premature Infants
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .S747 2010ISBN: 9781884914256Publication Date: 2010Contents: Third trimester fetal development -- Medical music therapy -- Music therapy in the NICU -- Reimbursement for evidence-based NICU-MT -- Music therapy for the post term infant in the NICU -- Post discharge : infant and early childhood music therapy -
Music Therapy, Sensory Integration, and the Autistic Child
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B45 2001ISBN: 9781843107002Publication Date: 2002Looking at why music therapy is used in working with people with autism, Dorita Berger considers characteristics of autism and demonstrates how sound can open communication channels. -
Music Therapy Social Skills Assessment and Documentation Manual: Clinical Guidelines for Group Work with Children and Adolescents
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .R75 2014ISBN: 9781849059855Publication Date: 2014A comprehensive and adaptable handbook for assessing and documenting social skill development in group music therapy for children with neurodevelopmental disorders -
Pediatric Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .L38 2014ISBN: 9780398087876Publication Date: 2014The book includes relevant medical, psychological, and developmental information to help service providers and parents to understand children with disabilities. -
Using Music in Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .B28 2019ISBN: 9781462539154Publication Date: 2019Provides accessible ways of integrating music into clinical work with children and adolescents.
Adults and Older Adults
-
Active Ageing with Music: Supporting Wellbeing in the Third and Fourth Ages
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection, Hillsboro Main Collection ML3920 .C894 2014ISBN: 1782770291Publication Date: 2014Contents: Musical social networks and social-emotional wellbeing -- Music-making and cognitive wellbeing -- Music-making and physical wellbeing -- Musical development during the third and fourth ages -- Principles and practive4s of facilitating musical activities for older people -- Active ageing through intergenerational music-making -- Contexts for musical participation -- Barriers to participation -- Conclusions. -
Involving Senior Citizens in Group Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .P565 2013ISBN: 9781849058964Publication Date: 2013This practical guide to running music therapy groups with senior citizens provides effective strategies that encourage therapists to be creative and engaging, and involve participants fully in the music-making process. The author explains how to choose or create music that is accessible to older people, relating to the group's shared experiences. -
Music for Life: Aspects of Creative Music Therapy With Adult Clients
by
Call Number: ML3920 .A77 1995ISBN: 1853022993Publication Date: 1995Central to the book is the idea that music therapy derives its uniqueness from music's base as a non-verbal art form. -
Music, Memory, and Meaning: How to Effectively Use Music to Connect with Aging Loved Ones
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .H36 2017ISBN: 9780999246900Publication Date: 2017A practical guide to using music to create connections, this book provides strategies, techniques, ideas, and resources for getting the most out of a shared listening experience. -
Music Therapy and Geriatric Populations: A Handbook for Practicing Music Therapists and Healthcare Professionals
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .B454 2011 book + dvdISBN: 1884914284Publication Date: 2011The primary purpose of this handbook is to educate music therapists and healthcare professionals about the uses and evidence-based benefits of music therapy practices with older adults - including those in hospice care, with Alzheimer's disease, in health and wellness programs, and in intergenerational programs. -
Therapeutic Uses of Music with Older Adults
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .C59 2008ISBN: 9781884914034Publication Date: 2008Contents: An introduction to principles of music therapy -- Therapeutic music for healthy older adults -- Therapeutic music with people who have dementia -- Managing problem behaviors in older adults with music -- Stress and pain management through music -- Music to facilitate physical exercise in older adults -- Therapeutic uses of music in surgery, invasive medical procedures, and palliative care -- Music in physical rehabilitation -- Music in spirituality -- Using music to help the caregiver.
Caregivers and Families
-
Caring for the Caregiver: The Use of Music and Music Therapy in Grief and Trauma
by
Call Number: ML3920 .C286 2002ISBN: 9781884914072Publication Date: 2002Part 1: Rationale and Theory; Part 2: Methods of Caregiving and Reflections. -
Music of the Soul: Composing Life Out of Loss
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B427 2006ISBN: 0415954819Publication Date: 2006Guides the reader through principles, techniques, and exercises for incorporating music into grief counseling, with the end goal of further empowering the grieving person. -
Music Therapy with Families: Therapeutic Approaches and Theoretical Perspectives
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M89968 2017ISBN: 9781849056304Publication Date: 2017International music therapists describe and discuss models of working with families in different clinical areas, from those with family members with dementia or autism, to those in palliative care, psychiatric or paediatric hospital settings. They explain the theoretical background and practice of each approach, with research and case examples.
Dementia and Memory Loss
-
The Bells Are Ringing! The Magic of Using Handchimes in Music Therapy for People Living with Dementia
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .T43 2003ISBN: 9780973334005Publication Date: 2003A practical guide to creating a handchime ringing choir in a care facility in your community.
-
Connecting Through Music with People with Dementia: A Guide for Caretakers
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection RC521 .R46 2009ISBN: 9781843109051Publication Date: 2009Suitable for both family and professional caregivers with no former experience of music therapy, and for music therapy students and entry level professionals, this accessible book reveals many useful techniques used in music therapy by experienced professionals -
Music Therapy in Dementia Care
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M87 2000ISBN: 9781853027765Publication Date: 2000Contents: It's Not What You Do But the Way That You Do It; Overview of the Music Therapy Literature Relating to Elderly People; Working with Words: People with Dementia and the Significance of Narratives; The Importance of Singing with Elderly Patients; The Problem of Agitation in Elderly People and the Potential Benefit of Music Therapy; A Survey of Music Therapy Practice with Elderly People in the Netherlands; Improvisation as an Assessment of Potential in Early Alzheimer's Disease; Creative Music Therapy: A Last Resort?; Remembering and Forgiving; Working with Images and Recollection with Elderly Patients; We'll Survive: An Experiential View of Dance Movement Therapy for People with Dementia.
End of Life
-
Music at the End of Life: Easing the Pain and Preparing the Passage
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .H635 2010ISBN: 9780313362200Publication Date: 2010Highlights the unique role music has come to play in hospice and palliative medicine. -
Music Therapy at the End of Life
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M89752 2005ISBN: 9780977027804Publication Date: 2005Contents: Clinical issues and specialized populations, Music therapy methods, Professional issues.
-
Voices of the Dying and Bereaved
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .C54 2016ISBN: 9781937440923Publication Date: 2016Presents valuable information on the role of music therapy with respect to a number of issues common to end-of-life care and bereavement with a focus on grief and loss. The purpose of the book is to provide information and examples of ways of working in music therapy with the dying and bereaved for students, professional music therapists, as well as those in related healthcare roles and companions on the journey of the dying.
Neurological and Psychiatric Treatment
-
Cognitive Behavioral Music Therapy in Forensic Psychiatry: Workable Assumptions, Empirical Studies and Theoretical Foundations For Primary Goal-Oriented Treatment
by
Call Number: ML3920.H25 C64 2014xISBN: 949144414XPublication Date: 2014Focuses on music therapy as part of multi-modal treatment in forensic psychiatry.
-
Effective Clinical Practice in Music Therapy: Music Therapy for Children, Adolescents, and Adults With Mental Disorders
by
Call Number: ML3920 .E34 2007ISBN: 9781884914188Publication Date: 2007Covers the wide range of mental disorder diagnoses including psychotic disorders, eating disorders, anxiety disorders, depression, and personality disorders and addresses specific populations such as forensic and drug and alcohol rehabilitation. How music therapy is used within each model is explored, including music psychotherapy, rehabilitation, behavioral approach, and transpersonal therapy. -
Eurhythmics for Autism and Other Neurophysiologic Diagnoses
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B425 2016ISBN: 9781849059893Publication Date: 2016Introduces Eurhythmics, a method of teaching the musical concepts of rhythm, structure and expression kinaesthetically through movement, to help develop sensorimotor skills in children and adults with autism and other special needs. -
Handbook of Neurologic Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .H276 2014ISBN: 9780199695461Publication Date: 2014Neurologic Music Therapy (NMT) is a form of music therapy developed for people suffering from cognitive, sensory, or motor dysfunctions - arising from neurological diseases of the nervous system. -
Multimodal Psychiatric Music Therapy for Adults, Adolescents and Children: A Clinical Manual
by
Call Number: ML3920 .C34 2006ISBN: 9781843108313Publication Date: 2006From carrying out an initial patient assessment, through designing an appropriate treatment plan, to implementing and evaluating treatment, this manual is a guide to practical psychiatric music therapy. -
Music Therapy Methods in Neurorehabilitation: A Clinician's Manual
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B1518 2006ISBN: 9781843104124Publication Date: 2006Provides comprehensive guidance for clinicians on the application of music therapy methods in neurorehabilitation. -
Music Therapy in Mental Health for Illness Management and Recovery
by
Call Number: ML3920 .S587 2015ISBN: 9780198735366Publication Date: 2015Psychiatric music therapy text providing advice on illness management and recovery -
Music Therapy and Neurological Rehabilitation: Performing Health
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M89763 2005ISBN: 9781843103028Publication Date: 2005Shows that music therapy is an effective intervention in neurological rehabilitation that successfully facilitates communication with those who are deemed uncommunicative and can aid rehabilitation of clients affected by dementia, traumatic brain injury, and multiple sclerosis. -
Music Therapy and Traumatic Brain Injury: A Light on a Dark Night
by
Call Number: HILLSBORO MAIN RC387.5 .G525 2008ISBN: 9781843106654Publication Date: 2008Demonstrates how music therapy can be used to attend to the holistic, rather than purely functional, needs of people affected by severe head trauma. -
Music Therapy in the Treatment of Adults with Mental Disorders: Theoretical Bases and Clinical Interventions
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M899 2005ISBN: 1891278339Publication Date: 2005Contents: Psychomusical foundations of music therapy; Music therapy in the clinic setting; Taxonomy of programs and techniques in music therapy programs and techniques; Clinical interventions in adult psychiatric disorders. -
Psychiatric Music Therapy in the Community
by
Call Number: ML3920 .P79 2004ISBN: 1891278150Publication Date: 2004This anthology includes all published work by Tyson, and never-before published material written by and about her. The collection is presented in six sections: the therapeutic relationship, case studies, information about the Center, the use of music in treatment, interviews, and perspectives on Tyson and her work.
Disabilities and Illnesses
-
Group Music Activities for Adults with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
by
Call Number: ML3920 .R17 2011ISBN: 9781849058575Publication Date: 2011This collection of 100 group music activities is a sourcebook to provide insight to music therapists who are new to working with this client group, and inspiration to those familiar with working with adults but in need of fresh ideas. -
Music and Cancer: A Prescription for Healing
by
Call Number: RC254.5 .N34 2010ISBN: 9780763779085Publication Date: 2009Designed to improve the quality of life of people affected by cancer in a way that could only be conveyed through the healing powers of music and the arts. -
Music at the Edge: The Music Therapy Experiences of a Musician with AIDS
by
Call Number: ML3920 .L42 2016ISBN: 9781138856578Publication Date: 2016Invites the reader to experience a complete music therapy journey through the words and music of the client, and the therapist’s reflections. -
Music, Language and Autism: Exceptional Strategies for Exceptional Minds
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .O25 2013ISBN: 9781849051972Publication Date: 2013Presenting an innovative approach to the use of music with people on the autism spectrum. -
Music Therapy for Multisensory and Body Awareness in Children and Adults with Severe to Profound Multiple Disabilities: The MuSense Manual
by
Call Number: ML3920 .A16 2017ISBN: 9781785927362Publication Date: 2017This book presents the MuSense Manual, a music therapy program that equips music therapists to effectively work with individuals with profound and multiple disabilities (PMD). -
Music and the Social Model: An Occupational Therapist's Approach to Music With People Labelled as Having Learning Disabilities
by
Call Number: Hillsboro Library ML3920 .W545 2013ISBN: 9781849053068Publication Date: 2013Sets out activity ideas in the context of existing Occupational Therapy models and offers a host of tips, resources and ready-to-use themed lesson plans. -
Singing for Life
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B25 2006ISBN: 0415972892Publication Date: 2005This book shows how music, dance, drama, and the visual arts have been enlisted in the fight against AIDS in East Africa--from education to prevention and treatment. Musical traditions are used to both spread needed information and influence social behavior.
