World War II Primary Sources
Historical Maps - Databases
Historical maps help us to situate the events of the past within space. This section includes links to online databases of historical maps; printed sources of maps appear below. Tip: In most of these sites, search for large geographical areas such as states for best results. Small areas like cities often get no results even though the cities appear on the larger maps.
- National Archives (NARA) - Digitized Maps
Rare maps created and/or used by the federal government. Search by narrowing down to Type of Material = Maps and Charts; and Refinements = Online. Add keywords to your search such as Japan, Hawaii, or specific place names to get more specific results. - Digital Public Library of America - Maps
DPLA is a general database of historic images which contains tens of thousands of maps -- some historical, some recent. A good place to look for 20th century maps. Search for the keyword "map" + another keyword such as Oregon or Umatilla. - World War II Military Situation Maps
World War II Military Situation Maps
"This collection contains maps showing troop positions beginning on June 6, 1944 to July 26, 1945. Starting with the D-Day Invasion, the maps give daily details on the military campaigns in Western Europe, showing the progress of the Allied Forces as they push towards Germany."
Other Map Tools
- ArcGIS - Make & Edit Maps
Want to make your own professional-quality maps? ArcGIS is the most popular pro tool for map-making. Basic functions are free online; advanced functions require a subscription. - Google Maps - Terrain Images
The terrain layer of Google Maps (accessible on the left-hand navigation when using a full-sized browser) shows the land without all the distractions of roads, cities, etc. This is useful for correlating historical maps with actual locations.