Each of these databases indexes a set list of journals.
There is overlap of coverage. But each of these databases indexes unique journals.
If the journal is not indexed in the database you select you will not find articles from it.
You may need to search more than 1 database to complete your search.
Disconnect between the article reference/citation and the article itself.
These databases provide you with enough information to get the article, etc.
Do not necessarily have the full text. You may need to go out of the database to obtain the article, etc. itself.
These databases all have the Total Access @ Pacific Link on each citation.
Follow the link to
link to the journal in electronic format
link to the catalog to see if we have the journal in print format
link to our Interlibrary Loan department if we do not have it in electronic or print
Traditional Indexing & Abstracting Databases
MEDLINE - OvidU.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences; 5,400+ biomedical journals pub. in the US & 70 other countries. English language dominant. Dating back to the 1940s.
***This is the Medline searching interface from Ovid***
MEDLINE - PubMed (free site)*** Use this link to PubMed to easily connect to our electronic journals. ***
U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences; 5,400+ biomedical journals pub. in the US & 70 other countries. English language dominant. Dating back to the 1940s.
***PubMed is the Medline searching interface from the NLM***
CINAHL with Full TextIndexes about 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. 1981 - to the present.
alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Web of Science(1) Indexes 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
(2) Cited reference searching.