LibGuides: Optometry Resources: Images

Medical images

DISCLAIMER: Images can have the same copyright protection as published text. Before using any images from this subject guide, be sure to check each website for restrictions, terms of use, reproduction rights, and requests for citations.

Harvard Law Finding Public Domain & Creative Commons Media
Contains useful overview to public domain and Creative Commons. It also provides annotated links to sources for images.

NLM - Medical Stock Sources: Images, Photographs, Videos, Animations, and Film Footage
Most US government images and graphics are in the public domain. Read the disclaimers on each site before use. Here is a list of resources that are linked on this site.

• NLM Digital Collections contains Images from the History of Medicine (IHM). There are more than 70,000 historical images, from the Middle Ages to the present.
• The NLM Visible Human Project® is a digital image library of complete, normal adult male and female anatomies.
• The NEI (National Eye Institute of the National Institutes of Health) provides a Photos, Images, and Videos Catalog.
• NCI Visuals Online is from the National Institutes of Health National Cancer Institute
• Open-I is the Open Access Biomedical Images search engine. Access images in the National Library of Medicine's PMC (formerly PubMed Central) – an open archive of free full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
• The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) Public Health Image Library (PHIL) is a gateway to images at the CDC.
• The US Census Library resources include audio, video, and infographics.

Point of Care Resources - example MDConsult
subscribed ebooks - Wills Eye Atlas

Images from EBooks

Pacific's Optometry Ebooks
The Library's eBook-collection licenses may allow educational use of images found within the included eBook.

Pacific's Licensed Image Collections

MDConsult Images
Access over 50,000 high-quality medical images from the renowned medical books on MD Consult. Images include photos, tables, graphs, and more.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides full-text access to over 95 e-textbooks, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, drug monographs, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, custom curriculum tool, and patient education handouts.

NOTE: In order to get access to study tools and review questions, you must set up a MyAccess account. To access these tools off campus, the account must be renewed by logging in on campus every 90 days. To learn more, read About MyAccess
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 14 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database. Its physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. UpToDate includes treatment recommendations based on the best medical evidence, which are kept current as new studies are released and practices change.

General Medical Images

Hardin MD - Medical and Disease Pictures
The links in Hardin MD's directory are annotated to indicate the presence of pictures.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
HEAL is a searchable and browsable database of "over 2,000 [digital] images, audio clips and video clips. Educators and clinicians contribute their images and multimedia items so that they will me more readily available to other health science educators.
Health on the Net Media Gallery
The media gallery is indexed by body part and includes images of medical conditions and procedures.
MedPix
The MedPix database is provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University. Radiology images predominate, but pathology, ophthalmology, dermatology, and endoscopy images are also included.
Public Health Image Library
PHIL welcomes use of their material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into categories by people, place, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.

Wellcome Trust (UK) The Biomedical Collection holds over 40 000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences. Selected from the UK's leading teaching hospitals and research institutions, it covers disease, surgery, general healthcare, sciences from genetics to neuroscience including the full range of imaging techniques. Available under Creative Commons license.

Search Engines

Google Images Search
Google's search engine can be used to search for images on the Internet. Enter your search terms into the search box. For example type "ultrasound" to retrieve ultrasound images.
Altavista Images
Yahoo Images