LibGuides: PT & AT Resources: Evidence Based Medicine Resources

What You Will Find

This contains a solid collection of different types of evidence-based information.

You can search all sections together, or search an individual section.

When you look at the results of your search give yourself extra time to understand what exactly is in your results.

You can find evidence-based information in the other types of resources listed in this guide. Searching them fro EBM information may require extra searching skills.

EBM Resources

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence-Based Database) (Click Search to begin; free site) This link opens in a new window The Centre of Evidence-Based Physiotherapy maintains PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a database of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. It has been developed to give physiotherapists and others rapid access to abstracts and bibliographic details of the best evidence of treatment efficacy. Trials listed in PEDro are ranked by quality criteria to facilitate rapid access to the most valid evidence. Updated every two weeks.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a comprehensive evidenced-based clinical information resource. There are thousands of graphics within the topic reviews that can be printed or made into slides. These graphics are for the clinical, educational, or research purposes of Pacific University.
PTSDpubs (free site) This link opens in a new window The Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. • Traumatic stress and mental health sequelae • Assessment • Prevention • Treatment • Mental health services • Professional ethics • Public Policy • Traumatized populations

Centre for Evidence Based Physiotherapy
Allows you to search, collect and disseminate available scientific evidence in the physiotherapy domain for physiotherapists, health care workers, patients and financiers of health care. This website contains over 2500 whitepapers, all freely available from our database.
more...less...
CEPB is part of the Cochrane Collaboration.
Evidence-Based Resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute
Database of Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets for nursing and the allied health professions.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Hooked on Evidence
Hooked on Evidence includes clinical trials, cohort studies, case-control studies, case reports, single-subject experimental designs and cross-sectional studies.

APTA membership is required to access this database.

Patient Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Contains - evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from many organizations. Including:

American Optometric Association
American Academy of Ophthalmology

Contains - evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from many organizations.