Skip to main content

Tran Library New Student Guide: Using the Library

A Guide About Tran Library for New Students from a Student.

Using the Library

 

When it comes to the library, it's easy to think that it'll have everything you need when you need it. But  a lot of the time, that's not the case. If you wait until the last minutes to gather resources for an assignment, you might find that the library's copy has already been checked out or that you need to order it through Summit. That generally means you won't get the book or article in time.

So planning ahead can mean that you have a lot less stress when you're rushing to finish an assignment and already have all the sources you wanted.

CLASS

The tutoring center, the Center for Learning and Student Success (CLASS), is now on the second floor of the Library. Students can check the schedule by going through the library website and pressing the "Tutoring" link. 

This shows how to get the tutoring page from the library homepage

This takes you to a page giving more information about CLASS and there are two different links students can press to get to the tutoring schedule, "Check Schedule" and "Schedule an Appointment". Then you'll need to log in with your PUNet ID to see the schedule.  

An image telling you how you can check the schedule and schedule an appointment for tutoring

The CLASS schedule is fairly straightforward. You can filter the tutors by subject or the specific class. Below all the tutors are listed and the subjects they teach. To the right of their names, the white tiles shows the times they are available, the dark tiles are times they aren't available, and the light gray are times other students are reserved. 

You can press on the tiles to reserve the times you want. You can reserve as a single student or as a group. 

This shows the tutoring page and the different aspects on it

Online Databases

The Tran Library has access to many online databases students can use. You can search through the databases by following the link through the library's homepage. 

An image showing you how to get to the database list from the library homepage

Once you press "Databases" you will be brought to the list Pacific students have access to. On this page you can search for a specific database or limit the databases that are listed. You can search by subject, by who provides the database, or by the type of database (whether it has e-books, full-texts, or citations/abstracts). 

Showing list of databases that the library has access to

If you can't find the database you need or specific articles you're looking for, you can ask for help at the Research Services Desk or schedule an appointment with a Reference Librarian.