LibGuides: Audiology: Background Information/ Point of Care/Books

Why Start with Background Info?

Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:

Getting an overview of a topic
Getting topic ideas for a paper topic
Discovering words & concepts to narrow or broaden your topic
Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
Learning the key works on a given topic
Discovering the key authors on a given topic

Books and chapters in edited books are great places to find in-depth information about your topic.

Practice Portal: Resources to guide evidence-based decision-making on clinical and professional issues.
Evidence Maps: Searchable online tool for finding the latest summarized evidence on screening, assessment, treatment, and service delivery for SLPs and audiologists.
Preferred Practice Policy Documents: Best practices and standards in the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 14 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database. Its physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. UpToDate includes treatment recommendations based on the best medical evidence, which are kept current as new studies are released and practices change.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to medical and surgical content including access to over several hundred e-books, e-journals, videos, images. This collection includes: emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine essentials, ophthalmology, pediatrics, and psychiatry.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides full-text access to over 95 e-textbooks, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, drug monographs, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, custom curriculum tool, and patient education handouts.

NOTE: In order to get access to study tools and review questions, you must set up a MyAccess account. To access these tools off campus, the account must be renewed by logging in on campus every 90 days. To learn more, read About MyAccess

Library Search Box
A great place to look for background research and in-depth information. Limit your search specifically to books, book chapters, and ebooks and you'll find great sources to help you learn more about your topic.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor (ClinicalKey) Access up-to-date diagnostic and treatment information on more than 700 common medical conditions with Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017, which boasts the popular "5 books in 1" format! Published annually and now in its 19th year, it provides quick guidance on diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, medical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines, while additional electronic content equips you with e-only topics, images, tables, and much more. Note: To view PDF content, users must sign in with a personal ClinicalKey account. Author(s): Fred F. Ferri.
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2017 (AccessMedicine) Written by clinicians renowned in their respective fields, CMDT offers the most current insights into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. For each topic, you’ll find concise, evidence-based information about hospital and ambulatory medicine. This streamlined clinical companion is the fastest and easiest way to keep abreast of the latest medical advances, prevention strategies, and cost-effective treatments.

MedOne ComSci (formerly eCommunication Science) This link opens in a new window
Resources for communication sciences, audiologists, speech-language pathologists.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Users will need to login with their PUNetID/password to access the e-book content. Ebook Central provides full-text e-book access with coverage in multiple disciplines.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (E-book) This link opens in a new window
The International Encyclopedia of Linguistics encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.

Mobile Ebooks Apps
Download instructions for mobile ebooks apps including AccessMedicine, ClinicalKey, IBM Micromedex Drug Ref, and UpToDate.