Music Research and Resources: Books, Scores, Online Content
This bibliography represents a framework of music resources available at Pacific University. It does not include all titles in all music areas; rather, it is a listing intended as a starting point toward further reference and research.
Subject Bibliographies and Reference Sources
NOTE: The links in this guide do not work; they are in the process of being updated. However, the library most likely does have all of these resources. Just search for them by title in the library catalog to place holds or access ebooks. We apologize for the inconvenience.
This category is arranged into nine sections: I. American Music; II. Ethnomusicology and World Music; III. Instrumental and Wind Ensemble; IV. Jazz; V. Musical Theatre; VI. Opera; VII. Performance Practice; VIII. Pop and Rock; IX. Women in Music. Some of these materials are located in the Main Collection of the Tran Library and are available for check-out. Others are located in the Music Library Reference Collection in the second floor East Wing of the Tran Library and are available for use in the library.
This is not a comprehensive list of works or subjects, but is intended as a representative sample of what is available.
This page includes selected resources, linked to the library catalog.
A downloadable PDF version of the resource lists is also provided.
I. American Music
-
American Musical Traditions byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML3551.A53 2002 v.1-5ISBN: 002864624XPublication Date: 2002Includes: Native American music; African American music; British Isles music; European American music; Latino American and Asian American music.
-
The Literature of American Music in Books and Folk Music Collections: Supplement 1: A Fully Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML120.U5 H7 1988 Suppl.1ISBN: 081081997XPublication Date: 1988Contains annotations for books published from mid-1975 to the end of 1980. In addition, unannotated listing covering 1981-85 imprints are included.
-
Literature of American Music III, 1983-1992 byCall Number: EbookISBN: 0585047111Publication Date: 1996Continues a series of books begun in 1977 by David Horn called Literature of American music in books and folk music collections : a fully annotated bibliography.
-
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML101.U6 N48 1986ISBN: 0943818362Publication Date: 1986Focused solely on the unique styles and traditions of American music. -
American Music Before 1865 in Print and on Records byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML120.U5 A467ISBN: 0914678051Publication Date: 1976A classified and annotated bibliography of pre-1865 American music that [...] was in print and available for purchase in 1976.
II. Ethnomusicology and World Music
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML100 .G16 1998 v.1-10ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1998-2002V.1: Africa -- V.2 South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean -- V.3: The United States and Canada -- V.4: Southeast Asia -- V.5: South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent -- V.6: The Middle East -- V.7: East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea -- V.8: Europe -- V.9: Australia and the Pacific Island -- V.10: The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools -
Excursions in World Music
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection MT90 .E95 2004ISBN: 0131403052Publication Date: 2004Includes: India -- Middle East -- China -- Japan -- Indonesia -- Sub-Saharan Africa -- Europe -- Latin America -- Native America -- Ethnic North America -
The Music and Dance of the World's Religions
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML128.S17 R87 1996ISBN: 0313295611Publication Date: 1996 -
Worlds of Music
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3545 .W67 2009ISBN: 0534595391Publication Date: 2009Includes: North America, Native America -- Africa -- North America, Black America -- Europe, Central and Southeastern Regions -- India, South India -- Asia, Indonesia -- East Asia, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Overseas China -- Latin America, Chile, Bolivia, Ecuador, Peru -- The Arab World -
The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance
Call Number: FG VIDEO M1627 .J3 2005 v.1-30Publication Date: 200530 DVD set; can be checked out individually.
III. Instrumental and Wind Ensemble
-
Anthology Series byCall Number: MUSLIB REF ML1 .I59 v.1-6Publication Date: 1983-Selected articles from the periodical: Instrumentalist. Subjects include conducting, brass, woodwind, percussion.
-
Instrumental Music Guide byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML132.A2 G66ISBN: 0842515259Publication Date: 1977
-
Instrumental Music Printed Before 1600: A Bibliography
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML128.I65 B77ISBN: 9780674731677Publication Date: 1965 -
The Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music
by
Call Number: MUSLIB REF ML102.B35 R4 1991 v.1-2ISBN: 0918048087Publication Date: 1991-1996
IV. Jazz
-
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
by
Call Number: MUSLIB REF ML102.J3 N48 2002 v.1-3ISBN: 1561592846Publication Date: 2002 -
Free Jazz and Free Improvisation: An Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML102.J3 J46 2004ISBN: 0313298815Publication Date: 2004
V. Musical Theater
-
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater
by
Call Number: MUSLIB REF ML102.M88 G3 2001 v.1-3ISBN: 0028649702Publication Date: 2001Contains approximately 2,700 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about musical theater around the world during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, covering performers, composers, writers, shows, producers, directors, choreographers, and designers. -
The Encyclopedia of Stage and Film Musicals byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML102.M88 E53 2000ISBN: 9780753503751Publication Date: 2000
-
A Chronology of American Musical Theater
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002 v.1-3ISBN: 0195088883Publication Date: 2002Includes: v. 1. 1750-1912; v. 2. 1912-1952; v. 3. 1952-2001.
VI. Opera
-
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
by
Call Number: MUSLIB REF ML102.O6 N5 1992 v.1-4ISBN: 0935859926Publication Date: 1992-A comprehensive resource on the study of opera designed for scholars and opera aficionados.
-
Opera: A Research and Information Guide
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML128.O4 M28 2001ISBN: 0815335164Publication Date: 2001A guide to the research writings on all aspects of opera.
VII. Performance Practice
-
Performance Practice
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML457 .P47 1990 v.1-2ISBN: 0393028070Publication Date: 1990
VIII. Pop and Rock
-
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
by
Call Number: MUSLIB REF ML102.P66 G84 2006 v.1-10ISBN: 0195313739Publication Date: 2006 -
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML3534 .G754 2006 v.1-6ISBN: 0313329370Publication Date: 2006Chronicles the history of rock and roll music and its impact on American culture, discussing significant artists, albums, songs, writers, producers, and genres of six periods spanning 1951-2005, and provides chronologies, alphabetized guides, and lists of top-selling recordings, important albums, and further resources, including print works, Web sites, films, and museum collections. -
Hip-Hop Studies: An International Bibliography and Resource Guide byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML128.R28 G73 2016ISBN: 0984413464Publication Date: 2016Comprised of more than 7000 entries it encompasses both the early journalistic and popular writing on the subject as well as the wealth of scholarship that has emerged since the mid-1990s.
IX. Women in Music
-
The Norton-Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
by
Call Number: MUSLIB REF ML105 .N66 1994ISBN: 0393034879Publication Date: 1994 -
International Encyclopedia of Women Composers byCall Number: Forest Grove Music Reference Collection ML105 .C7 1987 v.1-2ISBN: 0961748524Publication Date: 1987Includes bio-bibliography and discography.
-
ISBN: 0984413464
