LibGuides: Spanish Studies Capstone 2022: Scholarly Articles & Books

Finding Scholarly Articles & Books

The databases below provide BOOKS, JOURNAL ARTICLES and other scholarly sources for your Spanish Capstone. In general, you should use these sources to answer these kinds of questions:

What background facts about my topic are already established by scholars?
What arguments do respected scholars make regarding my topic? (For example: Are there two or three main schools of thought on how your issue happened, or what should be done about it?)
Which studies have already provided evidence about solutions that work?

Beware, though: NOT EVERY source in the databases below is necessarily "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed." You must use your own judgment and experience to decide which sources are most compelling and most reliable. For more on this, see What's a Scholarly Source?

Spanish-Language Databases

Google Académico
The Spanish-language Google Scholar! Limit to Spanish with the checkbox, "Buscar sólo páginas en español."

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica indexes over 500 Spanish-language periodicals with coverage in multiple disciplines. Full text is available in many instances.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides access to the full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a Spanish-language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American and Spanish medical publishers. It contains the complete table of contents and PDF full-text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals.

General-Purpose Scholarly Databases

BoxerSearch (Pacific's General Library Search)
includes millions of items, including both electronic and print material. All of our books and e-books are here, as well as about 70 percent of the journal articles that we have paid access to. This is the quickest way to get into sources that you can access immediately, without having to guess whether you'll be able to get the full text.
**For more tips on using this database and getting loans from other libraries through Summit, see https://pacificu.libguides.com/howtos

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Some articles are available in full-text from Pacific University’s journal subscriptions via the Get full text article link.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier indexes over 13,000 periodicals with coverage in the social sciences, humanities, education, physical sciences, technology, medicine, etc. Full text is available for nearly 5,000 titles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed articles that cover the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, and more.

Subject Databases (Medical, Education, Politics, etc.)

Medical Journals

PubMed - MEDLINE (free site) This link opens in a new window
MEDICAL - The best-known database of scholarly literature on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences. Full-text is often (but not always) available.

Education Journals

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the most comprehensive index of education-related research in the United States. Full text is often (but not always) available.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text education journals, Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Politics

Use the "General-Purpose Scholarly Databases"
Political research is covered by many of the databases linked above under "General Databases."

Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Index provides indexing on national and global contemporary public policy issues.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States is an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Government Documents, Laws, Congressional Documents, etc. (Gov Docs in Primary Sources)
To find original sources on US government matters -- like debates in US Congress, regulations, etc. -- see this separate page on Government Documents within Pacific's Primary Source Guide.

Literature, Film, History, and more

More Subject Guides at Pacific
Check out guides to many more specialized subjects here.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR indexes and provides full-text access to nearly 400 periodicals with coverage in arts, sciences, business, ecology, botany, health, language, and literature. JSTOR is an archival database, meaning the most recent article may be 5 years old.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse indexes and provides full-text access to periodicals with coverage in multiple disciplines. The Libraries subscribes to the Project Muse Standard Collection.