BIOL 201: Tools for Research

The Biodiversity Heritage Library is a consortium of 10 of the world's largest natural history libraries, who have digitized either out-of-copyright or permission-obtained copyrighted materials.

The International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature oversees the International Code of Zoological Nomenclature.

The International Taxonomic Information System includes plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

Traces relationships among organisms

Universal Biological Indexer and Organizer. It includes classification, information, synonyms, and common names.

The Analytical Sciences Digital Library, ASDL, collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer reviewed web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences.

Open access to 909,799 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

BASE is a search engine especially for academic open access web resources.

BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

The Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 301,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format.

Environmental Fate Database identifies or provides all of the information necessary for assessing human or environmental exposure to chemicals from occupational and consumer use, environmental contamination, and food consumption

The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF forma

ingentaconnect offers one of the most comprehensive collections of academic and professional research articles online - some 4.5 million articles from 13,500 publications.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the public good.

The Grey Literature Network Service was founded in 1992. The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature. GreyNet further seeks to identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments. Its main activities include the International Conference Series on Grey Literature, the creation and maintenance of web-based resources, a moderated Listserv and combined Distribution List, The Grey Journal (TGJ), and curriculum development.

Grey Literature is a field in library and Information science that deals with the production, distribution, and access to multiple document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business, and organization in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.

PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Pubget is the search engine for life science PDFs. Pubget makes scientific research easier by simplifying the process of finding, managing and analyzing scientific papers.

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Open Access e-journals.

ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results.

Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.

SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.

Q-Sensei pools and processes a vast amount of information from the Internet and makes it better accessible to its users with its patented Search and Presentation engine. Search results are displayed clearly and comprehensively while cross references with rich content enable the user to gain more insight and understand search results in a larger context.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.