LibGuides: School of Healthcare Administration & Leadership: Finding Articles

Database Search Tips

* Think outside your search

Don't just use one specific search term - use terms that are more general, or are related to your topic.

* Change is good

If you don't have success at first, change your search terms. Try synonyms or related terms.

*Cheat!

When you find a good article, look at the subject terms or keywords that the database has used to index that article. Use those terms in a new search. Speak the database's language - it'll respond.

Start Here: Combination Health & Business Databases

The following databases combine both health and business resources so you can easily search for information on health administration topics.

HAL EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window Users are able to search 6 databases simultaneously including: AltHealth Watch, Business Source Premier, CINAHL with Full Text, EconLit with Full Text, Health Source Nursing: Academic Edition, and Legal Collection.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Gale Power Search allows users to search across all Gale databases.

Business/Administration Databases

Pacific Databases

These are selected databases that cover content relevant to business, economics and administration. For a comprehensive list of Pacific University Library databases, please visit the Library's website.

Business Abstracts w/ Full Text
Abstracts of articles from English-language periodicals, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals. It offers the full-text of selected periodicals with coverage beginning in January of 1995.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Articles, profiles, research reports, and more, covering topcis including management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides selected full text coverage for newspapers and other sources: selected full-text for 260 regional newspapers; full-text transcripts from 69 TV and radio programs; cover-to-cover full-text for 28 national and international newspapers.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text newswires that incorporate news information from all over the world.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
GPO (Government Printing Office) This link opens in a new window GPO Access provides free public access to full-text, official Federal information; Federal information finding aids; and Federal products for sale.

General Health/Medicine Databases

Pacific Databases
These are selected databases that cover content relevant to medicine and healthcare. For a comprehensive list of Pacific University Library databases, please visit the Library's website.

All Library Databases
Check out the rest of the databases that the Library has to offer!

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
PubMed - MEDLINE (free site) This link opens in a new window PubMed, from the US National Library of Medicine, covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window See APA PsycInfo®
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Excellent coverage of nursing and allied health literature, with both peer-reviewed and non-refereed sources.