Skip to main content

Zotero: In-text citations | bibliographies

In-text citations video

Bibliographies

Right-Click to Create Citation/Bibliography

To create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero, highlight one or more references and then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)…”. Then select a citation style for your citation/bibliography format and choose either to create a list of Citations/Notes or a Bibliography. Then choose one of the following four ways to create your citation/bibliography:

  • Save as RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file.
  • Save as HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. This format will also embed metadata allowing other Zotero users viewing the document to capture bibliographic information.
  • Copy to Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field.
  • Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.

Word processor plugins

Word Processor Plugins

There is a know issue with Office 365.  Please see the Issues tab.

Of the different ways to automatically generate bibliographies (as well as in-text citations and footnotes), the easy-to-use word processor plugins are the most powerful. These plugins, available for Microsoft Word and LibreOffice, create dynamic bibliographies: insert a new in-text citation in your manuscript, and the bibliography will be automatically updated to include the cited item. Correct the title of an item in your Zotero library and with a click of a button the change will be incorporated in your documents.

To get started with these plugins, check out the following links:

Third-party plugins are also available for integrating Zotero with other word processors and writing systems.

Video Guide

You can also get a taste of how these plugins work in action by watching screencasts of Zotero and Word (by Hannah Rempel, using the “Quick Format” version of the plugin) of Zotero and OpenOffice (by Ryan Guy, using the “classic” plugin). Note that these videos were made using older versions of Zotero; the Zotero Word plugin buttons look somewhat different in newer versions.