Skip to main content

Google Scholar: Google Scholar

Advanced Settings

Find the Advanced Search by pulling down the menu in the upper right haqnd corner.

Learn some tips on using the advanced search features in Google Scholar by following the instructions below:

  • "with ALL of the words"
    Use this line to list the words that your ideal articles will contain.
       obesity legislation children health
  • "with the EXACT PHRASE"
    Use this line to list a phrase that you would like to see contained within your ideal articles.
       preventing childhood obesity
  • "with AT LEAST ONE of the words"
    Use this line to list words that can be mixed-and-matched to create a search. You will get articles that contain at least one of these words.
       legislation BMI obesity diet
  • "WITHOUT the words"
    Use this line to list words that you do not want. This is helpful if your keyword has a synonym.
       JAVA coffee
  • "where my words occur"
    Use this box to tell Google Scholar that you want your keywords to be in the title of any articles. This is an easy way to cut down the number of articles/books in the results list.
  • "return articles AUTHORED by"
    Use this line to search using an author's name.
       R. Brooke Thomas
  • "return articles PUBLISHED in"
    Use this line to search within a specific journal. Watch for possible journal abbreviations.
       medical anthropology quarterly
  • "return articles DATED between"
    Use these boxes to specify a date range.
       2009 - 2012
    Nancy's Tips:
    * as wildcard symbol
       "*diet" will retrieve: diet, diets, dieting

Never Pay for an Article

What should I do if I'm asked to pay for the full text?

Never pay for articles!

  • First, check and see if there is a "Get full-text article" link.
  • Second, check the MORE link.
  • Try the following:
  • Library Homepage>ejournals>[type the name of the JOURNAL].
  • Library Homepage>Boxer Search>[type the name of the JOURNAL].
  • If the Pacific University Libraries does not own the journal, current Pacific students, staff, and faculty may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Advantages & Disadvantages

Advantages

Google Scholar can be useful when searching:

  • "Grey literature" such as conference proceedings
  • Across multiple disciplines
  • For multiple types of documents (articles, proceedings, books)

Google Scholar can also help you quickly identify who is publishing in your area of research.

Disadvantages

  • not knowing what is included or not included
  • not knowing when it's updated
  • many older articles
  • can't browse by title
  • no way to limit search results

If you need advanced searching features or recent articles, try one of the databases the library subscribes to. Many are included in the other tabs in this subject guide. Or you can browse all of our databases by subject.

 

Ask yourself:

  • When should you use Google Scholar, and when should you use a different search engine?
  • When would it be more productive to use a database that the Library subscribes to for students, faculty, and staff?

Getting Started - Google Scholar

Set your preferences in Google Scholar. Go to the Pacific University Google Scholar Information Page for a step-by-step view of this process.

You will need to change TWO settings

  1. Library Links - set up "Pacific University Libraries - Get full-text article"
  2. Export Settings - change to RefWorks

Library Links – creates a quick link to Pacific’s collection of ejournals and, if needed, Interlibrary Loan. 

Change Bibliography Manager to RefWorks – this allows you to save your references/citations quickly to RefWorks.

Now you will be able to link to Pacific’s electronic articles & save your references/citations to RefWorks.

For more information about Google Scholar at Pacific please see http://pacificu.libguides.com/shal