Anti-Racist Resources
Nonfiction Books
Ebooks are available at any time (limits on simultaneous users may apply, as indicated below).
You can find the print books on the shelves at the location indicated, or place holds to pick up at the Tran Library (Forest Grove) or the Hillsboro campus library. Learn more about accessing print materials here: https://www.lib.pacificu.edu/borrow/from-pacific/
Essays
We Should All Be Feminists by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HQ1206 .A35 2015ISBN: 110191176XPublication Date: 2015"In this essay -- adapted from her TEDx talk of the same name -- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, award-winning author of Americanah, offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century, one rooted in inclusion and awareness." - From publisher.- The Fire Next Time byCall Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.61 .B195 1963aPublication Date: 1963Two letters, written on the occasion of the centennial of the Emancipation Proclamation, that exhort Americans, both black and white, to attack the terrible legacy of racism. At once a powerful evocation of his childhood in Harlem and a disturbing example of the consequences of racial injustice, The Fire Next Time, which galvanized the nation in the early days of the civil rights movement, stands as one of the essential works of our literature.
Pleasure Activism: The Politics of Feeling Good by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HQ1155 .B76 2019ISBN: 9781849353267Publication Date: 2019"How do we make social justice the most pleasurable human experience? How can we awaken within ourselves desires that make it impossible to settle for anything less than a fulfilling life? Author and editor Adrienne Maree Brown finds the answer in something she calls "pleasure activism," a politics of healing and happiness that explodes the dour myth that changing the world is just another form of work." -From publisher.
Thick: And Other Essays by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HM479.C68 A3 2019ISBN: 9781620974360Publication Date: 2019"his stunning debut collection - in all its intersectional glory - mines for meaning in places many of us miss, and reveals precisely how the political, the social, and the personal are almost always one and the same." -From publisher.
Well-Read Black Girl: Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves: An Anthology by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PS153.N5 W37 2018ISBN: 0525619771Publication Date: 2018"Glory Edim has created a space in which black women's writing and knowledge and life experiences are lifted up, to be shared with all readers who value the power of a story to help us understand the world and ourselves." -From publisher.
Talking Back: Thinking Feminist, Thinking Black by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.86 .H74 1989ISBN: 0896083527Publication Date: 1989"[bell hooks] writes about the meaning of feminist consciousness in daily life and about self-recovery, about overcoming white-and male-supremacy, and about intimate relationships, exploring the point where the public and private meet." -From publisher.
A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings and Speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr. by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.97.K5 A25 1991ISBN: 0060646918Publication Date: 1991"Speeches, writings, interviews, and excerpts from five of Martin Luther King's books are presented in chronological order within topical groupings: Philosophy; Famous Sermons and Public Addresses; Historic Essays; Interviews; Books." -From summary.
Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PS3562.O75 S5 1984ISBN: 0895941414Publication Date: 1984"Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change." -From publisher.
The Source of Self-Regard: Selected Essays, Speeches, and Meditations by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PS3563.O8749 A6 2020ISBN: 9780525562795Publication Date: 2020" One of the most celebrated and revered writers in the history of American literature gives us a new nonfiction collection - a gathering of her essays, speeches, and meditations on society, culture, and art, spanning four decades. This book is divided into three parts: the first is introduced by a powerful prayer for the dead of 9/11, the second by a searching meditation on Martin Luther King Ir., and the last by a heart-wrenching eulogy for James Baldwin." -From publisher.
Citizen: An American Lyric by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PS3568.A572 A6 2014ISBN: 9781555976903Publication Date: 2014"In essay, image, and poetry, Citizen is a powerful testament to the individual and collective effects of racism in our contemporary, often named 'post-race' society." -From publisher.
The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks About Race by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.615 .F526 2017ISBN: 9781501126345Publication Date: 2017"National Book Award-winner Jesmyn Ward takes James Baldwin's 1963 examination of race in America, The Fire Next Time, as a jumping off point for this groundbreaking collection of essays and poems about race from the most important voices of her generation and our time." -From publisher.
Undermining Racial Justice: How One University Embraced Inclusion and Inequality by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection LC212.422.M5 J64 2020ISBN: 9781501748585Publication Date: 2020"In this book, Matthew Johnson focuses on the University of Michigan-an institution at the epicenter of the struggle over what racial justice should look like in practice in American higher education." -From publisher.
Memoir and Biography
Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HQ1413.C67 C67 2018ISBN: 9781250112576Publication Date: 2018"Brittney Cooper reminds us that anger is a powerful source of energy that can give us the strength to keep on fighting. Yet too often Black women's anger has been caricatured into an ugly and destructive force that threatens the civility and social fabric of American democracy. But Cooper shows us that there is more to the story than that. Black women's eloquent rage is what makes Serena Williams such a powerful tennis player. It's what makes Beyoncé's girl power anthems resonate so hard. It's what makes Michelle Obama an icon. Eloquent rage keeps us all honest and accountable. It reminds women that they don't have to settle for less." -From publisher.
Frederick Douglass by Call Number: E449.D75 B557 2020ISBN: 9781416590323Publication Date: 2020"An acclaimed historian's definitive biography of the most important African-American figure of the 19th century, Frederick Douglass, who was to his century what Martin Luther King, Jr. was to the 20th century."--From publisher.
Hunger: A Memory of (My) Body by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection BF697.5.B63 G39 2018ISBN: 9780062420718Publication Date: 2018" Roxane Gay addresses the experience of living in a body that she calls 'wildly undisciplined.' She casts an insightful and critical eye over her childhood, teens, and twenties -- including the devastating act of violence that was a turning point at age 12 -- and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life. With candor, vulnerability, and authority, Roxane explores what it means to be overweight in a time when the bigger you are, the less you are seen." -From publisher.
Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E184.O6 H64 2021ISBN: 9781984820389Publication Date: 2021"As the daughter of Korean immigrants, poet and essayist Cathy Park Hong grew up steeped in shame, suspicion, and melancholy. She would later understand that these 'minor feelings' occur when American optimism contradicts your own reality -- when you believe the lies you're told about your own racial identity. Minor feelings are not small, they're dissonant -- and in their tension Hong finds the key to the questions to haunt her." -From publisher
Survival Math: Notes On an All-American Family by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.86 .J332 2019ISBN: 9781501131707Publication Date: 2019"Explores gangs and guns, near-death experiences, sex work, masculinity, composite fathers, the concept of “hustle,” and the destructive power of addiction—all framed within the story of Mitchell Jackson, his family, and his community. Lauded for its breathtaking pace, its tender portrayals, its stark candor, and its luminous style, Survival Math reveals on every page the searching intellect and originality of its author." -From publisher.
How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PS3610.O6279 Z46 2019ISBN: 9781501132735Publication Date: 2019"Haunted and haunting, How We Fight for Our Lives is a stunning coming-of-age memoir. Jones tells the story of a young, black, gay man from the South as he fights to carve out a place for himself, within his family, within his country, within his own hopes, desires, and fears." -From publisher.
How to Be an Antiracist by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E184.A1 K344 2019ISBN: 9780525509288Publication Date: 2019"Ibram X. Kendi's concept of antiracism reenergizes and reshapes the conversation about racial justice in America -- but even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other." -From publisher
When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.97.K43 A3 2018ISBN: 1250171083Publication Date: 2018"When They Call You a Terrorist is Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele’s reflection on humanity. It is an empowering account of survival, strength and resilience and a call to action to change the culture that declares innocent Black life expendable." -From publisher.
Heavy: An American Memoir by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.97.L394 A3 2018ISBN: 9781501125652Publication Date: 2018"Through self-exploration, storytelling, and honest conversation with family and friends, Heavy seeks to bring what has been hidden into the light and to reckon with all of its myriad sources, from the most intimate--a mother-child relationship--to the most universal--a society that has undervalued and abused black bodies for centuries." -From publisher.
The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection BP223.Z8 L57943 1999ISBN: 0345379756Publication Date: 1965"In the searing pages of this classic autobiography, originally published in 1964, Malcolm X, the Muslim leader, firebrand, and anti-integrationist, tells the extraordinary story of his life and the growth of the Black Muslim movement." -From Amazon.
Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection BP223.Z8 L57636 2011ISBN: 9780670022205Publication Date: 2011"This biography of Malcolm X draws on new research to trace his life from his troubled youth through his involvement in the Nation of Islam, his activism in the world of Black Nationalism, and his assassination." -From publisher.
Redefining Realness: My Path to Womanhood, Identity, Love & So Much More by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HQ77.8.M63 A3 2014ISBN: 9781476709123Publication Date: 2014"Redefining Realness offers a bold new perspective on being young, multiracial, economically challenged, and transgender in America." -From publisher.
No Ashes in the Fire: Coming of Age Black & Free in America by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HQ76.27.A37 M66 2019ISBN: 9781568589404Publication Date: 2019"What happens to the black boys who come of age in neglected, poor, heavily policed, and economically desperate cities that the War on Drugs and mass incarceration have created? It wasn't until Darnell was pushed into the spotlight at a Newark rally after the murder of a young queer woman that he became a leading organizer with Black Lives Matter, a movement that recognized him and insisted that his life mattered. Here Moore gives voice to the rich, varied experiences of all those who survive on the edges of the margins." -From publisher.
The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection BP223.Z8 L57655 2020ISBN: 9781631491665Publication Date: 2020"In 1990 Payne embarked on a nearly thirty-year-long quest to interview anyone he could find who had actually known Malcolm X. All living siblings of the Malcolm Little family, classmates, street friends, cellmates, Nation of Islam figures, FBI moles and cops, and political leaders around the world. His goal: to transform what would become over a hundred hours of interviews into an unprecedented portrait of Malcolm X, one that would separate fact from fiction. Setting Malcolm's life not only within the Nation of Islam but against the larger backdrop of American history, Payne corrects the historical record and delivers extraordinary revelations." -From publisher.
Funeral for Flaca by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PS3616.R24 F85 2021ISBN: 9781892061874Publication Date: 2021"Funeral For Flaca is an exploration of things lost and found--love, identity, family--and the traumas that transcend bodies, borders, cultures, and generations. Emilly Prado retraces her experience coming of age as a prep-turned-chola-turned-punk in this collection that is one-part memoir-in-essays, and one-part playlist, zigzagging across genres and decades, much like the rapidly changing and varied tastes of her youth." -From Amazon
Not Quite Not White by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E184.S69 S46 2018ISBN: 9780143131380Publication Date: 2018"At the age of 12, Sharmila Sen emigrated from India to the U.S. The year was 1982, and everywhere she turned, she was asked to self-report her race: on INS forms, at the doctor's office, in middle school. Never identifying with a race in the India of her childhood, she rejects her new "not quite" designation: not quite white, not quite black, not quite Asian, and spends much of her life attempting to blend into American whiteness. But after her teen years trying to assimilate, watching shows like General Hospital and The Jeffersons, dancing to Duran Duran and Prince, and perfecting the art of Jell-O no-bake desserts, she is forced to reckon with the hard questions: What does it mean to be white, why does whiteness retain the magic cloak of invisibility while other colors are made hypervisible, and how much does whiteness figure into Americanness?" -From publisher.
Dear America: Notes of an Undocumented Citizen by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PN4874.V37 V37 2018ISBN: 9780062851369Publication Date: 2018"The movement of people--what Americans call 'immigration' and the rest of the world calls 'migration'--is among the defining issues of our time. Technology and information crosses countries and continents at blistering speed. Corporations thrive on being multinational and polyglot. Yet the world's estimated 244 million total migrant population, particularly those deemed 'illegal' by countries and societies, are locked in a chaotic and circular debate about borders and documents, assimilation and identity. An issue about movement seems immovable: politically, culturally and personally. Dear America: Notes Of An Undocumented Citizen is an urgent, provocative and deeply personal account from Jose Antonio Vargas, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist who happens to be the most well-known undocumented immigrant in the United States." -From publisher
More Than Enough: Claiming Space for Who You Are (No Matter What They Say) by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection PN4874.W415 A3 2020ISBN: 9780525561613Publication Date: 2020"In this riveting and timely memoir, the groundbreaking journalist unpacks lessons on race, identity, and success through her own journey, from navigating her way as the unstoppable child of a unlikely interracial marriage in small-town California to finding herself on the frontlines of a modern movement for the next generation of change makers. Welteroth moves beyond the headlines and highlight reels to share the profound lessons and struggles of being a barrier-breaker across so many intersections." -From publisher.
White Like Me: Reflections on Race From a Privileged Son by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.615 .W565 2011ISBN: 9781593764258Publication Date: 2011"It is a personal examination of the way in which racial privilege shapes the daily lives of white Americans in every realm: employment, education, housing, criminal justice, and elsewhere. Using stories from his own life, Tim Wise demonstrates the ways in which racism not only burdens people of color, but also benefits, in relative terms, those who are 'white like him.' He discusses how racial privilege can harm whites in the long run and make progressive social change less likely. He explores the ways in which whites can challenge their unjust privileges, and explains in clear and convincing language why it is in the best interest of whites themselves to do so. Using anecdotes instead of stale statistics, Wise weaves a narrative that is at once readable and yet scholarly, analytical and yet accessible." -From publisher
Histories
A Black Women's History of the United States by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.86 .B475 2020ISBN: 0807033553Publication Date: 2020"A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country. In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combating centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism." -From publisher.
Set the World on Fire: Black Nationalist Women and the Global Struggle for Freedom by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.6 .B65 2018ISBN: 9780812249880Publication Date: 2018"Keisha N. Blain reframes the Great Depression, World War II, and the early Cold War as significant eras of black nationalist-and particularly, black nationalist women's-ferment. In Chicago, Harlem, and the Mississippi Delta, from Britain to Jamaica, these women built alliances with people of color around the globe, agitating for the rights and liberation of black people in the United States and across the African diaspora." -From publisher.
We Return Fighting: World War I and the Shaping of Modern Black Identity by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection D639.N4 W4 2019ISBN: 9781588346728Publication Date: 2019"A richly illustrated commemoration of African Americans' roles in World War I highlighting how the wartime experience reshaped their lives and their communities after they returned home." -From publisher.
The Fire Is upon Us: James Baldwin, William F. Buckley Jr., and the Debate Over Race in America by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.615 .B77 2020ISBN: 9780691210773Publication Date: 2020-09-01"In February 1965, novelist and 'poet of the Black Freedom Struggle' James Baldwin and political commentator and father of the modern American conservative movement William F. Buckley met in Cambridge Union to face-off in a televised debate. The topic was 'The American Dream is at the expense of the American Negro.' Buccola uses this momentous encounter as a lens through which to deepen our understanding of two of the most important public intellectuals in twentieth century American thought." -From publisher.
The War Before the War: Fugitive Slaves and the Struggle for America's Soul from the Revolution to the War by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E450 .D45 2018ISBN: 9780735224131Publication Date: 2019" Explains how fugitive slaves escaping from the South to the northern states awakened northerners to the true nature of slavery and how the Compromise of 1850 and the Fugitive Slave Act divided the nation and set it on the path to civil war." -From publisher.
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E76.8 .D86 2014ISBN: 9780807057834Publication Date: 2014"Acclaimed historian and activist Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz offers a history of the United States told from the perspective of Indigenous peoples and reveals how Native Americans, for centuries, actively resisted expansion of the US empire." -From publisher.
All the Women are White, All the Blacks are Men, But Some of Us are Brave : Black Women's Studies by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.86 .A4 1982ISBN: 0912670959Publication Date: 1982"Winner of the Outstanding Women of Colour Award, and the Women Educator's Curriculum Material Award, this ground-breaking collection provides a wealth of materials needed to develop course units on black women, from political theory to literary essays on major writers to work on black women's contributions to the blues." -From summary.- The Black Jacobins: Toussaint L'Ouverture and the San Domingo Revolution byCall Number: Forest Grove Main Collection F1923 .T85 1963ISBN: 0394702425Publication Date: 1963"Account of the only slave revolt that ultimately lead to the founding of a black republic in the heart of the Caribbean." -From Amazon.
Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.61 .K358 2016ISBN: 9781568584638Publication Date: 2016"Stamped from the Beginning uses the lives of five major American intellectuals to offer a window into the contentious debates between assimilationists and segregationists and between racists and antiracists." -From publisher.
An African American and Latinx History of the United States by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E184.S75 O79 2018ISBN: 9780807013106Publication Date: 2018"Incisive and timely, this bottom-up history, told from the interconnected vantage points of Latinx and African Americans, reveals the radically different ways that people of the diaspora have addressed issues still plaguing the United States today, and it offers a way forward in the continued struggle for universal civil rights." -From publisher.
The History of White People by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E184.A1 P29 2010ISBN: 9780393049343Publication Date: 2010"Telling perhaps the most important forgotten story in American history, eminent historian Nell Irvin Painter guides us through more than two thousand years of Western civilization, illuminating not only the invention of race but also the frequent praise of “whiteness” for economic, scientific, and political ends. A story filled with towering historical figures, The History of White People closes a huge gap in literature that has long focused on the non-white and forcefully reminds us that the concept of “race” is an all-too-human invention whose meaning, importance, and reality have changed as it has been driven by a long and rich history of events." -From publisher.
May We Forever Stand by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3561.L54 P37 2018ISBN: 9781469638607Publication Date: 2018"The twin acts of singing and fighting for freedom have been inseparable in African American history. May We Forever Stand tells an essential part of that story. With lyrics penned by James Weldon Johnson and music composed by his brother Rosamond, "Lift Every Voice and Sing" was embraced almost immediately as an anthem that captured the story and the aspirations of black Americans. Since the song's creation, it has been adopted by the NAACP and performed by countless artists in times of both crisis and celebration, cementing its place in African American life up through the present day. In this rich, poignant, and readable work, Imani Perry tells the story of the Black National Anthem as it traveled from South to North, from civil rights to black power, and from countless family reunions to Carnegie Hall and the Oval Office." -From publisher.
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.61 .R8185 2017ISBN: 9781631492853Publication Date: 2017"Richard Rothstein explodes the myth that America's cities came to be racially divided through de facto segregation--that is, through individual prejudices, income differences, or the actions of private institutions like banks and real estate agencies. Rather, The Color of Law incontrovertibly makes it clear that it was de jure segregation--the laws and policy decisions passed by local, state, and federal governments--that actually promoted the discriminatory patterns that continue to this day." -From publisher.
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection, Hillsboro Main Collection RC265.6.L24 S55 2010ISBN: 9781400052172Publication Date: 2010Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer, yet her cells--taken without her knowledge--became one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, they are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. [...] The story of the Lacks family is inextricably connected to the dark history of experimentation on African Americans, the birth of bioethics, and the legal battles over whether we control the stuff we are made of." -From publisher.
Embattled Freedom: Journeys Through the Civil War's Slave Refugee Camps by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E453 .T18 2018ISBN: 9781469643625Publication Date: 2018"The Civil War was just days old when the first enslaved men, women, and children began fleeing their plantations to seek refuge inside the lines of the Union army as it moved deep into the heart of the Confederacy. In the years that followed, hundreds of thousands more followed in a mass exodus from slavery that would destroy the system once and for all. Drawing on an extraordinary survey of slave refugee camps throughout the country, Embattled Freedom reveals as never before the everyday experiences of these refugees from slavery as they made their way through the vast landscape of army-supervised camps that emerged during the war." -From publisher.
Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HT725.U6 W55 2020ISBN: 9780593230251Publication Date: 2020"Isabel Wilkerson gives us a portrait of an unseen phenomenon in America as she explores, through an immersive, deeply researched narrative and stories about real people, how America today and throughout its history has been shaped by a hidden caste system, a rigid hierarchy of human rankings. Beyond race, class, or other factors, there is a powerful caste system that influences people's lives and behavior and the nation's fate." -From publisher.
The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.6 .W685 2011ISBN: 9780679763888Publication Date: 2011"Chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history-- the decades-long migration of Black citizens who fled the South for Northern and Western cities, in search of a better life. From 1915 to 1970, this exodus of almost six million people changed the face of America." -From publisher.
Contemporary Topics
Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Call Number: Eugene Main Collection KF373.S74 A3 2015ISBN: 9780812984965Publication Date: 2015"From one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time comes an unforgettable true story about the redeeming potential of mercy. Bryan Stevenson was a gifted young attorney when he founded the Equal Justice Initiative, a legal practice dedicated to defending the poor, the wrongly condemned, and those trapped in the furthest reaches of our criminal justice system. One of his first cases was that of Walter McMillian, a young man sentenced to die for a notorious murder he didn't commit. The case drew Stevenson into a tangle of conspiracy, political machination, and legal brinksmanship - and transformed his understanding of mercy and justice forever." -From publisher.
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.86 T396 2016ISBN: 9781608465620Publication Date: 2016"Activist and scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor surveys the historical and contemporary ravages of racism and persistence of structural inequality such as mass incarceration and Black unemployment. In this context, she argues that this new struggle against police violence holds the potential to reignite a broader push for Black liberation." -From publisher.
Fatal Invention: How Science, Politics, and Big Business Re-Create Race in the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection GN269 .R64 2012ISBN: 9781595588340Publication Date: 2012"Explores the ways science, politics, and large corporations affect race in the twenty-first century, discussing the efforts and results of the Human Genome Project, and describing how technology-driven science researchers are developing a genetic definition of race." -From summary.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration In The Age Of Colorblindness by Call Number: Eugene Main Collection and Forest Grove Main Collection HV9950 .A437 2010ISBN: 9781595581037Publication Date: 2010"As the United States celebrates the nation's "triumph over race" with the election of Barack Obama, the majority of young black men in major American cities are locked behind bars or have been labeled felons for life. Although Jim Crow laws have been wiped off the books, an astounding percentage of the African American community remains trapped in a subordinate status, much like their grandparents before them, who lived under an explicit system of control." -From publisher.
Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection LC2731 .M59 2015ISBN: 9781620970942Publication Date: 2016"or four years Monique W. Morris, author of Black Stats, chronicled the experiences of black girls across the country whose intricate lives are misunderstood, highly judged-by teachers, administrators, and the justice system-and degraded by the very institutions charged with helping them flourish. Morris shows how, despite obstacles, stigmas, stereotypes, and despair, black girls still find ways to breathe remarkable dignity into their lives in classrooms, juvenile facilities, and beyond." -From publisher.
Policing the Planet: Why the Policing Crisis Led to Black Lives Matter by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HV8141 .P5977 2016ISBN: 9781784783167Publication Date: 2016"A probing collection of essays and interviews addressing police brutality and racial injustice. Policing has become one of the urgent issues of our time, the target of dramatic movements and front-page coverage from coast to coast in the United States and across the world. Now a wide-ranging collection of writers and activists offers a global response, describing ongoing struggles from New York to Ferguson to Los Angeles, as well as London, San Juan, San Salvador, and beyond." -From publisher.
Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves the American Soul by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.615 .G548 2016ISBN: 9780804137416Publication Date: 2016"Whether discussing why all Americans have racial habits that reinforce inequality, why black politics based on the civil-rights era have reached a dead end, or why only remaking democracy from the ground up can bring real change, Glaude crystallizes the untenable position of black America--and offers thoughts on a better way forward." -From publisher.
White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.61 .A5438 2016ISBN: 9781632864123Publication Date: 2016"Carefully linking [...] historical flash points when social progress for African Americans was countered by deliberate and cleverly crafted opposition, Anderson pulls back the veil that has long covered actions made in the name of protecting democracy, fiscal responsibility, or protection against fraud, rendering visible the long lineage of white rage. Compelling and dramatic in the unimpeachable history it relates, White Rage will add an important new dimension to the national conversation about race in America. " -From publisher.
Race, Work, and Leadership: New Perspectives on the Black Experience by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HF5549.5.M5 R34 2019ISBN: 9781633698017Publication Date: 2019" "Race, Work, and Leadership is a rare and important compilation of essays that examines how race matters in people's experience of work and leadership. What does it mean to be Black in corporate America today? How are racial dynamics in organizations changing in a post-Obama era? How do we build inclusive organizations? Inspired by and developed in conjunction with the research and programming for Harvard Business School's 2018 celebration of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the HBS African American Student Union, this groundbreaking book shines new light on these and other timely questions and illuminates the present-day dynamics of race in the workplace." -From publisher.
The Afterlife of Reproductive Slavery: Biocapitalism and Black Feminism by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HT1523 .W44 2019ISBN: 9781478001768Publication Date: 2019"Engaging with a broad set of texts, from Toni Morrison's Beloved and Octavia Butler's dystopian speculative fiction to black Marxism, histories of slavery, and legal cases involving surrogacy, Weinbaum shows how black feminist contributions from the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s constitute a powerful philosophy of history—one that provides the means through which to understand how reproductive slavery haunts the present." -From publisher.
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And Other Conversations About Race by Call Number: Hillsboro Main Collection, Eugene Main Collection, Forest Grove Main Collection E185.625 .T38 2003ISBN: 9780465083619Publication Date: 2003"With a discussion guide and a new epilogue by the author, this is the fifth anniversary edition of the bestselling work on the development of racial identity. Shares real-life examples and current research that support the author's recommendations for "straight talk" about racial identity, identifying practices that contribute to self-segregation in childhood groups." -From published.
The Social Life of DNA: Race, Reparations, and Reconciliation After the Genome by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.625 .N45 2016ISBN: 9780807033012Publication Date: 2016"Nelson incisively shows that DNA is a portal to the past that yields insight for the present and future, shining a light on social traumas and historical injustices that still resonate today. Science can be a crucial ally to activism to spur social change and transform twenty-first-century racial politics. But Nelson warns her readers to be discerning: for the social repair we seek can’t be found in even the most sophisticated science." -From publisher.
White Negroes: When Cornrows Were in Vogue...And Other Thoughts on Cultural Appropriation by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.625 .J328 2019ISBN: 9780807011805Publication Date: 2019"This book provides a cultural, political, and social survey through the most American of pastimes that continues to thrive today. With narrative, accessible criticism, research, and popular cultural touchstones we can all recognize, I'd like to introduce readers to the black presence that holds up daily life as they know it. It is a crucial account of the people, stories, and culture that create the hilarious, crazy wonder that is life in the 21st century. It is also a wake up call. White Negroes wants to peel open [the] still beating heart of interracial antagonism in this country and expose a form of theft that feels natural only because we are used to it." -From publisher.
We Want to Do More Than Survive: Abolitionist Teaching and the Pursuit of Educational Freedom by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection LC2717 .L68 2019ISBN: 9780807069158Publication Date: 2019"Drawing on personal stories, research, and historical events, an esteemed educator offers a vision of educational justice inspired by the rebellious spirit and methods of abolitionists. Drawing on her life's work of teaching and researching in urban schools, Bettina Love persuasively argues that educators must teach students about racial violence, oppression, and how to make sustainable change in their communities through radical civic initiatives and movements." -From publisher.
Hattiesburg: An American City in Black and White by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection F349.H36 S78 2019ISBN: 9780674976351Publication Date: 2019"A rich, multigenerational saga of race and family in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, that tells the story of how Jim Crow was built, how it changed, and how the most powerful social movement in American history came together to tear it down. If you really want to understand Jim Crow—what it was and how African Americans rose up to defeat it—you should start by visiting Mobile Street in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, the heart of the historic black downtown. There you can see remnants of the shops and churches where, amid the violence and humiliation of segregation, men and women gathered to build a remarkable community. William Sturkey introduces us to both old-timers and newcomers who arrived in search of economic opportunities promised by the railroads, sawmills, and factories of the New South. He also takes us across town and inside the homes of white Hattiesburgers to show how their lives were shaped by the changing fortunes of the Jim Crow South." -From publisher.
Black Feminism Reimagined: After Intersectionality by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HQ1197 .N37 2019ISBN: 9781478000594Publication Date: 2019"Jennifer C. Nash reframes black feminism's engagement with intersectionality, often celebrated as its primary intellectual and political contribution to feminist theory. Charting the institutional history and contemporary uses of intersectionality in the academy, Nash outlines how women's studies has both elevated intersectionality to the discipline's primary program-building initiative and cast intersectionality as a threat to feminism's coherence. As intersectionality has become a central feminist preoccupation, Nash argues that black feminism has been marked by a single affect--defensiveness--manifested by efforts to police intersectionality's usages and circulations. Nash contends that only by letting go of this deeply alluring protectionist stance, the desire to make property of knowledge, can black feminists reimagine intellectual production in ways that unleash black feminist theory's visionary world-making possibilities." -From publisher.
Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death, and Hard Truths in a Northern City by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E78.O5 T35 2017ISBN: 9781487002268Publication Date: 2017"Over the span of ten years, seven high school students died in Thunder Bay, Ontario. The seven were hundreds of miles away from their families, forced to leave their reserve because there was no high school there for them to attend. Award-winning journalist Tanya Talaga delves into the history of this northern city that has come to manifest, and struggle with, human rights violations past and present against aboriginal communities." -From publisher
Books for White Allies
What White People Can Do Next: From Allyship to Coalition by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HT1521 .D33 2021ISBN: 9780063112711Publication Date: 2021"Vital and empowering, What White People Can Do Next teaches each of us how to be agents of change in the fight against racism and the establishment of a more just and equitable world. In this affecting and inspiring collection of essays, Emma Dabiri draws on both academic discipline and lived experience to probe the ways many of us are complacent and complicit--and can therefore combat--white supremacy." -From Publisher
White Fragility: Why It's So Hard For White People To Talk About Racism by Call Number: Eugene Main Collection HT1521 .D486 2018ISBN: 9780807047415Publication Date: 2018"In this in-depth exploration, DiAngelo explores how white fragility develops, how it protects racial inequality, and what we can do to engage more constructively." -From publisher.
Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon To White America by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection E185.615 .D97 2017ISBN: 9781250135995Publication Date: 2017"Fifty years ago Malcolm X told a white woman who asked what she could do for the cause, 'Nothing.' Michael Eric Dyson believes he was wrong. Now he responds to that question. If society is to make real racial progress, people must face difficult truths, including being honest about how Black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted." -From publisher.
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People about Race by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection DA125.A1 E33 2017ISBN: 9781408870556Publication Date: 2017"Exploring issues from eradicated black history to the political purpose of white dominance, whitewashed feminism to the inextricable link between class and race, Reni Eddo-Lodge offers a new framework for how to see, acknowledge and counter racism today." -From publisher.
Waking Up White and Finding Myself in the Story of Race by Call Number: Hillsboro Main Collection, Eugene Main Collection E185.615 .I778 2014ISBN: 9780991331307Publication Date: 2014"For twenty-five years, Debby Irving sensed inexplicable racial tensions in her personal and professional relationships. As a colleague and neighbor, she worried about offending people she dearly wanted to befriend. As an arts administrator, she didn't understand why her diversity efforts lacked traction. As a teacher, she found her best efforts to reach out to students and families of color left her wondering what she was missing. Then, in 2009, one "aha!" moment launched an adventure of discovery and insight that drastically shifted her worldview and upended her life plan." -From publisher.
It's Time to Talk (and Listen): How to Have Constructive Conversations About Race, Class, Sexuality, Ability, and Gender in a Polarized World by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection HM1271 .K546 2019ISBN: 9781684032679Publication Date: 2019"This practical and user-friendly guide will show you how to engage in effective, compassionate discussions; talk in an authentic and straightforward way about subjects like immigration, racism, and sexism; and speak from the heart with tools from the head. You'll discover powerfully effective communication strategies supported by research and practiced in classrooms, work settings, and more. Finally, you'll learn how to reach that important next level in difficult conversations, and take what you've learned out into the world- whether it's through political activism, volunteer work, social justice causes, or simply engaging the minds of those around you." -From publisher
So You Want to Talk about Race by Call Number: Eugene Main Collection and Forest Grove Main Collection E184.A1 O454 2018ISBN: 9781580056779Publication Date: 2018"An actionable exploration of today's racial landscape, offering straightforward clarity that readers of all races need to contribute to the dismantling of the racial divide." -From publisher.
Start Where You Are, but Don't Stay There: Understanding Diversity, Opportunity Gaps, and Teaching in Today's Classrooms by Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection LC1099.3 .M56 2020ISBN: 9781682534397Publication Date: 2020"Addresses the knowledge and insights required on the part of teachers and school leaders to serve students of color." -From publisher.
Further Reading
Find more print books in the following ways:
- Conduct an Advanced Search in the library catalog for the following subjects, then filter your results to print books:
- Anti-racism
- Racism -- United States
- United States -- Race relations
- White privilege
- Race discrimination -- Political aspects -- United States
- Racism -- Political aspects -- United States
- Multiculturalism -- United States
- [Credit for subject headings list: Simmons University Library]
- Access books from your local public library. In Oregon, here are some resources for obtaining a library card:
- Is there a book that you think we should buy? Let us know and we will research your request and get back to you!
- Is there a book that you would like us to get from another library? Let us know about that, too!