PSY 358: Ethnic Diversity in the United States
Psychological theory and research in ethnic identity and ethnicity and their effects on social relationships, well-being, and physical health will be reviewed. Current and classic research on ethnicity, resiliency, cultural, trauma, & family socialization
Library database: Health & Medical Collection
What evidence is there that supports the hypothesis that personality traits affect who chooses to get a tattoo?
What research indicates that individuals who undergo tattooing may experience changes in their immune system?
Library Database: PubMed
- PubMed - MEDLINE (free site) This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which includes MEDLINE, the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Pacific University Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
Library database: Public Health
Enter your search terms in the search box.
Library database: Academic Search Premier
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier indexes over 13,000 periodicals with coverage in the social sciences, humanities, education, physical sciences, technology, medicine, etc. Full text is available for nearly 5,000 titles.
What evidence is there that supports the hypothesis that personality traits affect who chooses to get a tattoo?
What research indicates that individuals who undergo tattooing may experience changes in their immune system?
Library database: Academic OneFile
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowGale Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed articles that cover the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, and more.
What evidence is there that supports the hypothesis that personality traits affect who chooses to get a tattoo?
Health web links
- HealthyPeople.govAlthough the term disparities is often interpreted to mean racial or ethnic disparities, many dimensions of disparity exist in the United States, particularly in health. If a health outcome is seen to a greater or lesser extent between populations, there is disparity. Race or ethnicity, sex, sexual identity, age, disability, socioeconomic status, and geographic location all contribute to an individual’s ability to achieve good health. It is important to recognize the impact that social determinants have on health outcomes of specific populations. Healthy People strives to improve the health of all groups.
- Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation: Disparities PolicyDisparities in Health and Health Care: Five Key Questions and Answers.
- National Institutes of Mental HealthMinority Health and Mental Health Disparities Program.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services AdministrationSAMHSA works to reduce behavioral health disparities among different population groups through programs, technical assistance, and workforce development.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services AdministrationLearn how SAMHSA’s programs, initiatives, and resources work to improve the behavioral health of racial and ethnic minority populations.
- Department and Health and Human Services, Office of Minority HealthMinority mental health issues.