Public Health

Social Services Abstracts
Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serial publications as well as dissertations and book reviews.

PsychINFO
This database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to over 2,000 periodicals in more than 30 languages and to book chapters and books in the English language.

AgeLine
Indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports on social gerontology from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. 

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
The most comprehensive database for research related to Education. For public health topics, this is a good database to search for interventions based in schools as well as school health related issues. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

JSTOR and Project Muse
These two databases are best known for their coverage of the humanities and the 'softer' social sciences, such as literature, history and political science. These are good databases to get a grounding in historical and sociological issues related to public health.