Music Therapy Research
General Resources
NOTE: The links in this guide do not work; they are in the process of being updated. However, the library most likely does have all of these resources. Just search for them by title in the library catalog to place holds or access ebooks. We apologize for the inconvenience.
This is not a comprehensive list of works or subjects, but is intended as a representative sample of what is available.
This page includes selected resources, linked to the library catalog.
A downloadable PDF version of the resource lists is also provided.
-
Biomedical Foundations of Music as Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .T392 2010ISBN: 9780977845514Publication Date: 2010Presents a unifying theoretical basis for observed therapeutic effects of music by laying a scientific foundation for the thesis that the brain is the target organ for sensory input and the mediator of neural impulses that result in physical, emotional, and spiritual wellness. Describes the role of music therapy to enhance human capabilities. -
Case Study Designs in Music Therapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .C327 2005ISBN: 9781843101406Publication Date: 2005Beginning with methodological and musicological approaches to case studies, the book then moves on to more specific topics such as the use of case studies in an interactive play setting and in music therapy with the elderly. Later chapters explore theoretical aspects, looking at a worked example of music and progressive change during therapy, and how case study designs can be used in practice. -
Collaboration and Assistance in Music Therapy Practice: Roles, Relationships, Challenges
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .C68 2017ISBN: 9781849057028Publication Date: 2017Relating the innovative ways in which assistants and collaborators can become an integral part of a course of music therapy, this book explores how the involvement of a diverse range of individuals, such as family members, learning support assistants, caregivers and medical staff, can contribute to successful sessions. -
Culture-Centered Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .S76 2002ISBN: 1891278142Publication Date: 2002Offers an in-depth exploration of taking culture-inclusive perspectives for practice, theory, and research in music therapy. -
Defining Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .B775 2014ISBN: 9781937440572Publication Date: 2014This book takes an in-depth look at the unique problems of defining music within a therapeutic context, and defining therapy within a musical context. -
The Dynamics of Music Psychotherapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .D95 1998ISBN: 1891278053Publication Date: 1998Presents the work of leading pioneers in psychodynamically oriented music therapy. -
Experiencing Race As a Music Therapist: Personal Narratives
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .H24 2013ISBN: 9781937440398Publication Date: 2013A compilation of critically engaging narratives that grew out of conversations with 17 music therapists living in different parts of the world, from various racial groups, about their experiences of their racialized identities in the therapy setting. -
Feders' The Art and Science of Evaluation in the Arts Therapies: How Do You Know What's Working
by
Call Number: RC489.A7 F426 2013ISBN: 9780398088521Publication Date: 2013Written to be useful both for graduate students in the arts therapies training programs, doctoral programs, and for practitioners in the field who want guidelines for developing and implementing evaluation programs. -
Group Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .D27 2015ISBN: 9780415665926Publication Date: 2015Brings together developments in theory and clinical practice in music therapy group work, celebrating the richness of what group analytic thinking and music therapy can offer one another. -
A Guide to Designing Research Questions for Beginning Music Therapy Researchers
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M344 2018ISBN: 9781884914362Publication Date: 2018This book aims at providing guidance for music therapy students approaching their first research project. -
A Guide to Writing and Presenting in Music Therapy
by
Call Number: ML3920 .A16 2003xISBN: 1891278185Publication Date: 2003This publication is an elaboration of two questions. What do you want to say? And, how do you want to say it? -
A History of the Music Therapy Profession
by
Call Number: ML3920 .B97 2016ISBN: 9781937440954Publication Date: 2016An introduction to music therapy concepts and practices from historical and international perspectives, with descriptions of the many models of practice and theories that have shaped the discipline since the 1930's. -
Integrated Team Working
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .T93 2008ISBN: 9781843105572Publication Date: 2008This theoretical and practical guide offers useful advice for music therapy students and professionals who wish to employ collaborative approaches. -
Integrative Health Through Music Therapy: Accompanying the Journey From Illness to Wellness
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920.H367 I58 2016ISBN: 113738476XPublication Date: 2016The book instructs music therapists and other practitioners in the use of specific techniques, providing examples of clinical applications. -
International Dictionary of Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML102.M83 I57 2013ISBN: 9780415809405Publication Date: 2013The International Dictionary of Music Therapy offers models, methods and interventions that range from regional to international, including several terms that have never been published before. -
-
Lifelong Engagement with Music: Benefits for Mental Health and Well-Being
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .L6935 2012ISBN: 9781621006121Publication Date: 2012Covers the benefits of music therapy from birth to advanced age. -
Music, Health, and Wellbeing
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M89647 2013ISBN: 9780199686827Publication Date: 2013A comprehensive exploration of how music can positively affect our health and wellbeing, presenting cutting edge research from many disciplines. -
Music, Neurology, and Neuroscience: Evolution, the Musical Brain, Medical Conditions, and Therapies
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection QP376 .P7 2015ISBN: 9780444635518Publication Date: 2015This broad but comprehensive book deals with history and new discoveries about music and the brain. It provides a multi-disciplinary overview on music processing, its effects on brain plasticity, and the healing power of music in neurological and psychiatric disorders. -
Music Therapy: An Art Beyond Words
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .B85 2014ISBN: 9780415450683Publication Date: 2014A concise introduction to the current practice of music therapy around the world, Music Therapy: An art beyond words is a resource for professionals in music therapy and music education, those working in the psychological therapies, social work and other caring professions, and students at all levels. -
Music Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M897 2018ISBN: 9781884914355Publication Date: 2018This book is designed to be a resource for music therapy students and experienced music therapists alike. In this text, readers will find information on music therapy approaches and clinical applications for a variety of settings and populations. -
Music Therapy Education and Training: From Theory to Practice
by
Call Number: ML3920 .G655 2011ISBN: 9780398086091Publication Date: 2011Contents: Music therapy education and training in the United States -- Competency-based education and training -- Preprofessional clinical training -- Advanced competencies -- Theories of teaching and learning -- Music therapy pedagogy -- Around the globe.
-
Music Therapy Handbook
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M89776 2015ISBN: 9781462518036Publication Date: 2015Provides a comprehensive overview of contemporary music therapy, from basic concepts to emerging clinical approaches. -
Music Therapy in Action
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .P88 2012ISBN: 9781937440152Publication Date: 2012In addition to presenting a practical overview of music therapy with many case examples from her own work, Priestley also lays out the basic premises for the major improvisational model that she developed, Analytical Music Therapy. -
Music Therapy in Context: Music, Meaning and Relationship
by
Call Number: ML3920 .P228 1997ISBN: 9781853024344Publication Date: 1997By drawing extensively from current literature on music and developmental psychology, music therapy, psychotherapy and music theory, this book encourages music therapists not to compromise the musical process at the heart of their practice, not simply to `borrow' concepts from allied theories, but to use these with authority. -
Music Therapy in Principle and Practice
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M483 2012ISBN: 9780398088187Publication Date: 2012Combines valuable information from research as a basis for principles along with the realities of hands-on experience as a basis for practice. -
Music Therapy: Perspectives, Cultural Aspects and Clinical Outcomes
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M89747 2017ISBN: 9781536122411Publication Date: 2017Explores the different applications of music therapy to different clinical settings and types of patients. -
The Music Therapy Profession: Inspiring Health, Wellness, and Joy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .K67 2019ISBN: 9781643763040Publication Date: 2019This book offers both the pragmatic reasons and "feel good" aspects that inspire people to enter this fulfilling profession. -
Music Therapy: Research and Evidence-Based Practice
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .Y56 2018ISBN: 9780323485609Publication Date: 2018Provides a concise, useful overview of the profession of music therapy, including a description of each of the research-support practices that occur in the settings where music therapists most commonly work. -
The New Music Therapist's Handbook
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .H3 2018ISBN: 0876391951Publication Date: 2018Includes valuable information for both students and professionals, particularly in meeting the competencies of the Board Certification for Music Therapy and standards of practice for the American Music Therapy Association. -
Oxford Handbook of Music Therapy
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .O887 2016ISBN: 9780199639755Publication Date: 2016International leaders in music therapy from 10 countries have contributed their expertise to the book in order to showcase contemporary music therapy. They share knowledgable perspectives from multiple models of music therapy that have developed throughout the world. -
Rhythm, Music, and the Brain: Scientific Foundations and Clinical Applications
by
Call Number: ML3800 .T44 2005ISBN: 0415973708Publication Date: 2005Unites art and science to examine the integral role played specifically by rhythm in our perception of music and its known neurobiological foundations. -
The Study of Music Therapy: Current Issues and Concepts
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .A173 2014ISBN: 9780415626408Publication Date: 2014This book addresses the issues in music therapy that are central to understanding it in its scholarly dimensions, how it is evolving, and how it connects to related academic disciplines.
