Open Educational Resources: Open Resources by Subject
an introductory guide for faculty and students exploring openly published course materials
Textbooks in the Natural Sciences
Representative Books
This is a sample of available books, and is not comprehensive. See “Browse More” below to view additional texts.
Concepts of Biology by ISBN: 1938168119Publication Date: 2013; last updated 2020.Biology for non-majors.
Microbiology by ISBN: 1938168143Publication Date: 2016; lastu pdated 2020.Microbiology for non-majors.
Chemistry 2e by ISBN: 9781947172623Publication Date: 2019; last updated 2020.Two-semester general chemistry.- Chemistry: Atoms First 2e by ISBN: 1947172646Publication Date: 2019; last updated 2020.An atoms-first adaptation of Chemistry 2e.
University Physics (volume 1, volume 2, volume 3) by William Moebs, Samuel J. Ling, Jeff Sanny.
ISBN: 1938168275
Publication Date: 2016; last updated 2020.
Two- or three-semester calculus-based physics.
Browse More Natural Science Textbooks
- OpenStax > ScienceThese free books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. (Affiliation: Rice University)
- Open Textbook Library > ScienceA clearinghouse of open textbooks on a wide range of platforms. To be on the list, the books must be used by the author's institution and by at least one other institution. (Affiliation: University of Minnesota)
- LumenOpen courses designed to be affordable for students. Includes open educational materials, and low-cost homework and assessment materials.
Textbooks in the Humanities
Representative Books
This is a sample of available books, and is not comprehensive. See “Browse More” below to view additional texts.
- You, Writing! A Guide to College Composition byPublication Date: 2018
- Guide to Writing byThis guide is primarily based on material from Lumen Learning’s English Composition I: Process-Based course and Joe Schall’s Style for Students, with supplemental videos by David Rheinstrom from Khan Academy’s Grammar.
- Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity byPublication Date: 2014A text for introductory literature courses.
- An Introduction to Philosophy byPublication Date: 2015
- Introduction to Philosophy: Ethics byPublication Date: 2019
- Fundamentals Methods of Logic byPublication Date: 2017
Western Civilization: A Concise History (volume 1, volume 2, volume 3) by Christopher Brooks.
Publication Date: 2019
- World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 byPublication Date: 2018
History of International Relations: A Non-European Perspective by ISBN: 9781783740222Publication Date: Last revised 2020.
Browse More Humanities Textbooks
- Open Textbook LibraryThese free books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. (Affiliation: University of Minnesota). Humanities subject areas include: Arts; History; Languages; Linguistics; Literature, Rhetoric, and Poetry; Philosophy.
- BCcampus OpenEdIncludes a clearinghouse of open textbooks from different platforms, and those specifically created for the BCcampus program for open education in British Columbia. Humanities subject areas include: English Literature; Gender and Sexuality; History; Linguistics; Philosophy; Spanish Literature.
- Open SUNY TextbooksOpen textbooks published by State University of New York Libraries.
- Open Access Publishing in European NetworksContains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
- LumenOpen courses designed to be affordable for students. Includes open educational materials, and low-cost homework and assessment materials.
Textbooks in the Social Sciences and Education
Representative Books
This is a sample of available books, and is not comprehensive. See “Browse More” below to view additional texts.
- A Quick Guide to Quantitative Research in the Social Sciences byPublication Date: 2020
- Child, Family, and Community byPublication Date: 2019
- The Art of Behing Human: A Textbook for Cultural Anthropology byPublication Date: 2018
- Educational Psychology byPublication Date: 2009
- Steps to Success: Crossing the Bridge Between Literacy Research and Practice byPublication Date: 2016; last revised 2019
Principles of Economics 2e by ISBN: 1947172360Publication Date: 2018; last revised 2019Two-semester introductory economics.- Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World byPublication Date: 2014
Browse More Social Sciences and Education Textbooks
- Open Textbook Library > Social SciencesThese free books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. (Affiliation: University of Minnesota). Social Sciences subject areas include Psychology and Sociology; also includes Education and Economics subject areas.
- BCcampus OpenEdIncludes a clearinghouse of open textbooks from different platforms, and those specifically created for the BCcampus program for open education in British Columbia. Social Sciences subject areas include: Anthropology; Economics; Political Science; Psychology; Sociology.
- LumenOpen courses designed to be affordable for students. Includes open educational materials, and low-cost homework and assessment materials.
Textbooks in the Health Sciences
Representative Books
This is a sample of available books, and is not comprehensive. See “Browse More” below to view additional texts.
- Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan byPublication Date: 2018; last revised 2020
- Health Case Studies byPublication Date: 2017; last revised 2019.
- Human Nutrition byPublication Date: 2018; last revised 2020
- Medicines by Design byPublication Date: 2014; last revised 2019
- Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities & Mental Illness byPublication Date: 2015; last revised 2019
Browse More Health Sciences Textbooks
- BCcampus OpenEdIncludes a clearinghouse of open textbooks from different platforms, and those specifically created for the BCcampus program for open education in British Columbia. Health and Medical subject areas include Dentistry; Health/Medical General; Health/Medical Technology; Nursing; Nutrition/Dietary; Pharmacy/Pharmacology; Support/Caregiving.
- National Academies PressPublishes a wide range of free books in PDF format, on the subjects of science, engineering, and medicine, with additional formats available to purchase. (Affiliation: National Academies of Science)
- Open MichiganA collection of open educational resources from the University of Michigan, including course materials, including book, lectures, and other materials. Includes Medical, Pharmacy, and Public Health subject areas, among many others.
Textbooks in Mathematics
Representative Books
This is a sample of available books, and is not comprehensive. See “Browse More” below to view additional texts.
Calculus (volume 1; volume 2; volume 3) by Gilbert Strang, Edwin “Jed” Herman.
ISBN: 193816802X
Publication Date: 2016; last revised 2020.
Two- or three-semester general calculus course.
A First Course in Linear Algebra by ISBN: 1616100044Publication Date: 2009; last revised 2015An introductory textbook designed for university sophomores and juniors.
Browse More Mathematics Textbooks
- OpenStax > MathThese free books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. (Affiliation: Rice University)
- Open Textbook Library > MathematicsThese free books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. (Affiliation: University of Minnesota). Mathematics subject areas include Applied and Pure Mathematics.
- LumenOpen courses designed to be affordable for students. Includes open educational materials, and low-cost homework and assessment materials.
- American Institute of MathematicsThe American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
Textbooks in Business
Representative Books
This is a sample of available books, and is not comprehensive. See “Browse More” below to view additional texts.
Principles of Accounting (Volume 1, Volume 2) by LuAnn Bean.
ISBN: 1947172689
Publication Date: 2019.
Browse More Business Textbooks
- OpenStax > BusinessThese free books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. (Affiliation: Rice University)
- LumenOpen courses designed to be affordable for students. Includes open educational materials, and low-cost homework and assessment materials.
- MERLOTFree and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.