Accessing Electronic Resources Using Article Galaxy Scholar

Select journal articles from the following publisher collections for which we will no longer have subscriptions are accessible through Article Galaxy Scholar:

• American Chemical Society (partial subscription has been retained through 2025)
• Elsevier (ScienceDirect only)
• Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
• Springer Nature

Additionally, articles from select journals previously included in our EBSCO and Taylor & Francis collections are now accessible through AGS. 

We have retained archival full-text access to some titles that Pacific previously subscribed to, which are accessible as usual via the library catalog or respective database. Date ranges for archival full-text access vary by publication. 

For more information, see the list of journals from the collections listed above that will be moved from traditional subscriptions to on-demand delivery via AGS. This list is continually updated as we work with our vendors to secure the broadest possible access.

NOTE: E-books from the impacted collections listed above are not included on this list, as they are not accessible via AGS. The Libraries are working to acquire single-title licenses for high-use e-books from the collections that we will no longer subscribe to. If you have concerns about the availability of e-books from these collections, please use the relevant links to our feedback forms below, or contact the libraries directly. 

How is AGS different from an article ILL request?

Interlibrary loan materials are borrowed from other libraries, while materials from Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS) are individual articles purchased on-demand by the libraries when a request is submitted. AGS is a separate service from our interlibrary loan (ILL) option, though they do work together. For example, if an article is not available in AGS, the platform will direct you to submit an interlibrary loan request.
 

Can I instantly download the PDF of the article I want?

Yes, you should instantly get access to the PDF copy once you select the "Open PDF" button after submitting your AGS request. Most articles will be available for immediate download in your browser, but occasionally they may be accessed only via the email sent directly to you. 

Are all articles available in AGS?

No, only a select number of journal titles and articles are available through AGS. Most other requests for articles not in our holdings can be placed through an interlibrary loan request. 

Why don’t I see the AGS access option in databases?

Our databases do not offer an AGS access link. Submitting an AGS request must be done through the library online search. When trying to access an article from the databases that is not available in full-text, either select the "Total Access at PacificU" option to search the library online search, or open the library search and copy and paste the full title of the article into the search bar to check for access or place a request for access. 

How long do I have to download the pdf of the article I want?

The link sent to your PacificU email is active for 30 days. You can use that page to download the PDF up to 5 times. 

Does it cost any money to use the AGS link option in the library search?

AGS is free for Pacific faculty, staff, and students to use, though each request incurs a fee for the Libraries.

Should I always choose AGS over ILL?

If your article request is not urgent, we recommend using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), which typically takes 24 to 48 hours to fulfill. However, if you need the article right away and the AGS option is available, you can use AGS to access the PDF immediately. 

Please use our Resource Gap Feedback Form to let us know if there are electronic resources essential to your work that you are no longer able to access due to these changes. This helps us track gaps in our collections and ensures we are aware of the resources most needed by our community.

To request a purchase of an e-book, print book, or other physical media, please submit a request using our Request a Purchase form. Note that this form is not for requesting electronic journals or databases. 

To report technical issues, please submit a ticket using our Technical Issues Form.