Pharmacy Resources
Basic list of resources available to students and faculty at Pacific University
Core Pharmacy Resources Introduction
The following core resources represent the most used e-textbooks, databases, and web sites in Pharmacy. Most titles are full-text electronic, only a few are in print. For more resources, look under the drug information page for a larger listing of all the sources used in pharmacy practice.
Article Databases
- Book Citation Index (Science) This link opens in a new window Indexes periodicals with coverage in biology, botany, zoology, environmental studies, and related disciplines.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 317 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, or Nursing & Allied Health Collection.
- PubMed - MEDLINE (free site) This link opens in a new window PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which includes MEDLINE, the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences. This is a free database provided as a courtesy by the Pacific University Library, which cannot guarantee access or content.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
eTextbooks
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by ISBN: 9781259584732Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Eleventh Edition by ISBN: 1260116816Publication Date: 2020-06-25
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twentieth Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by ISBN: 1259644030Publication Date: 2018-08-13
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations by ISBN: 1582122962Publication Date: 2017-12-01
- AccessPharmacy Pacific maintains a subscription to AccessPharmacy. In addition to countless ebooks, AccessPharmacy has NAPLEX Review self-assessments.
Drug Information
- Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window Facts & Comparisons® eAnswers is a source for drug information for pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals, and provides drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts.
- Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window Lexi-Comp specializes in the development and distribution of clinical information regarding diagnosis, drug therapy, and patient counseling to students and healthcare professionals. Access to Pacific University Library-licensed resources is intended to support and inform preceptors’ engagement with, and development of experiential learning opportunities for, Pacific students. It is expected the preceptors will utilize these resources only to the extent needed to facilitate student learning outcomes. Access to Pacific-licensed resources is not intended to replace personal or corporate subscriptions, and should not be used by preceptors for commercial purposes. Violation of these terms will result in loss of access to all Pacific-licensed resources.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Micromedex contains reference information on drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Micromedex is to be used by Pacific University faculty and students for instructional purposes only and is not to be used in a clinical setting.
Martindale by ISBN: 0857113097Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Evidence-Based Practice
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey provides access to medical and surgical content including access to over several hundred e-books, e-journals, videos, images. This collection includes: emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine essentials, ophthalmology, pediatrics, and psychiatry.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
- TRIP - Turning Research into Practice (free site) This link opens in a new window The TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) • Is made to quickly provide evidence for clinical decision making • Pulls information from Cochrane, National Guideline Clearinghouse, and Medline • Allows you to search evidence based resources together, and very quickly. • Includes a PICO search tool to help you in quickly searching the literature. • Trip has been online since 1997 • Also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 14 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database. Its physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. UpToDate includes treatment recommendations based on the best medical evidence, which are kept current as new studies are released and practices change.