Music Therapy Research
Music Therapy in Health Care Settings
NOTE: The links in this guide do not work; they are in the process of being updated. However, the library most likely does have all of these resources. Just search for them by title in the library catalog to place holds or access ebooks. We apologize for the inconvenience.
This is not a comprehensive list of works or subjects, but is intended as a representative sample of what is available.
This page includes selected resources, linked to the library catalog.
A downloadable PDF version of the resource lists is also provided.
-
Clinical Applications of Music in Neurologic Rehabilitation
by
Call Number: ML3920 .C65 1998ISBN: 9781581060010Publication Date: 1998Music and the brain -- Music and memory -- Music for persons with dementia and their caregivers -- Paraverbal psychomotor techniques in neurologic habilitation and rehabilitation -- Digital music technology in music therapy practice -- Introducing "Soundbeam." -
Clinical Guide to Music Therapy in Adult Physical Rehabilitation Settings
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .W66 2004ISBN: 9781884914119Publication Date: 2004Presents tools and information designed to equip music therapists and other allied health professionals with basic knowledge and materials to aid in the treatment of people who have experienced strokes or brain injuries, and for those who are ventilator dependent. -
Effective Clinical Practice in Music Therapy: Medical Music Therapy for Adults in Hospital Settings
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .E3234 2010ISBN: 1884914276Publication Date: 2010Contents: Music therapy in hospital settings; Introduction to adult medical musical therapy; Music therapy with adult units; Obstetrics; Intensive care unit (ICU); General medical/surgical; Cancer care; Resources; Glossary of terms; Comprehensive bibliography; Sample music therapy intervention plans; Music therapy and medicine; Music therapy in the treatment and management of pain.
-
Medical Music Therapy: Building a Comprehensive Program
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M42 2014ISBN: 1884914314Publication Date: 2014This book brings together cutting edge practices from medical music therapy clinicians and educators across the country and provides information on evidence-based clinical applications with a variety of medical populations, program development, student supervision, and psycho-social/culturally driven, patient-family centered care.
-
Music Therapy in Children's Hospices
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M8978 2005ISBN: 1843102544Publication Date: 2005The contributors adapt music therapy to hospice environments and explore key concerns for all practitioners, including how to empower ill children and their families, how to help bereaved siblings, and how the therapists themselves find support. -
Music Therapy in Health and Education
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M8979 1993ISBN: 9781853021756Publication Date: 1993Selected and revised papers from the proceedings of the conference, Music therapy in health and education in the European Community, sponsored by the British Society for Music Therapy and the Association of Professional Music Therapists, held at King's College, Cambridge, in April 1992. -
Music Therapy and Pediatric Medicine: A Guide to Skill Development and Clinical Intervention
by
Call Number: ML3920 .W63 2009ISBN: 9781884914232Publication Date: 2009Contents: Computerized music therapy assessment in pediatrics -- Music therapy in the pediatric playroom -- Music therapy at the bedside -- Music therapy during invasive medical procedures -- Music therapy in the surgical arena -- Music therapy for parents-a relaxation/listening program. -
Music Technology in Therapeutic and Health Settings
by
Call Number: Forest Grove Main Collection ML3920 .M89745 2014ISBN: 9781849052733Publication Date: 2014Takes the reader through the equipment that is available including computer-based software; electronic devices which produce musical sounds with minimal movement or skill; assistive devices such as switches and sensors; and recording and listening equipment. -
The Oxford Handbook of Medical Ethnomusicology
by
Call Number: ML3920 .O88 2008ISBN: 9780195337075Publication Date: 2008Establishes the discipline of medical ethnomusicology and expresses its broad potential
