SGP Resources

* Don't try just one!

Search multiple databases - each database indexes a different collection of journals/sources.

* Think outside your search

Don't just use one specific search term - use terms that are more general, or are related to your topic.

* Change is good

If you don't have success at first, change your search terms.  Try synonyms or related terms.

*Cheat! 

When you find a good article, look at the subject terms or keywords that the database has used to index that article.  Use those terms in a new search.  Speak the database's language - it'll respond.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports.

Can I access Google Scholar to link to Pacific's Journal & Books?

Yes. Once in Google Scholar, Click on Settings, Library Links, Search for Pacific University, and select Pacific University (Get full-text article) as your institution. Here is

What should I do if I’m asked to pay for the full text?

Google Scholar often links to versions of papers and articles on commercial publisher websites. These sites will ask you to buy a subscription or pay to access an article... Do not pay for articles! Look for the Pacific University (Get full-text article) link. The Pacific University Library already provides access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar.

What should I do if the full text is not available?

Any time you have trouble accessing full text (or any question), for help. The Pacific University Library also provides access to materials not owned by or available through Pacific through our Interlibrary Loan system. 

What disciplines does Google Scholar cover?

Google Scholar covers all subjects: science, technology, social sciences and humanities.

Can I trust the resources listed in Google Scholar?

Not all Google Scholar results are “scholarly.” It is important to carefully review and assess each information source for its appropriateness and relevance to your research.

What does “cited by” mean?

Google Scholar includes a list of references under each article and paper, so when an author cites old materials, even outdated information, these appear in your search results. These citation counts may not be as accurate as those in another Pacific database, Web of Science. 

What should I do if I can’t find the resources I need in Google Scholar?

If you’re not finding the information you need in Google Scholar, don’t forget that the Pacific University Library offer hundreds of article databases on a wide array of subjects. 

Does Google Scholar work with any of the bibliographic management software?

YES!  Google Scholar supports several bibliographic management softwares: BibTeX, EndNote, RefMan, RefWorks and WenXianWang. Using the "preferences" link, choose the software you are using. 

How can I get more help?

There’s always help available: Ask-A-Librarian.

• NTIS

  National Technical Information Service
• U.S. Government Documents

  In-depth guide to U.S. Government document resources at the University of Pennsylvania
• DocuTicker

  DocuTicker collects abstracts from 'grey literature': PDF reports published by government agencies, think tanks, NGOs, research institutes and other public interest groups.

Google

limit by adding these to your search

• site:.gov
• site:.org