SGP Resources
Why Background?
General
The Encyclopedia of Clinical Psychology by
5 Volumes. Includes well over 500 A-Z entries of between 500 and 7,500 words in length covering the main topics, key concepts, and influential figures in the field of clinical psychology
***Serves as a comprehensive reference with emphasis on philosophical and historical issues, cultural considerations, and conflicts
***Offers a historiographical overview of the ways in which research influences practice
***Cites the best and most up-to-date scientific evidence for each topic, encouraging readers to think critically.
ISBN: 9780470671276Publication Date: 2015-01-20
APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology (2016)
APA handbook of clinical psychology: Roots and branches (Vol. 1). Norcross, John C [Ed]; VandenBos, Gary R [Ed]; Freedheim, Donald K [Ed]; Domenech Rodriguez, Melanie M [Ed] American Psychological Association http://proxy.lib.pacificu.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=psbk&AN=2015-25524-000
APA handbook of clinical psychology: Theory and research (Vol. 2). Norcross, John C [Ed]; VandenBos, Gary R [Ed]; Freedheim, Donald K [Ed]; Olatunji, Bunmi O [Ed] American Psychological Association http://proxy.lib.pacificu.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=psbk&AN=2015-25841-000
APA handbook of clinical psychology: Applications and methods (Vol. 3). Norcross, John C [Ed]; VandenBos, Gary R [Ed]; Freedheim, Donald K [Ed]; Krishnamurthy, Radhika [Ed] American Psychological Association http://proxy.lib.pacificu.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=psbk&AN=2015-46203-000
APA handbook of clinical psychology: Psychopathology and health (Vol. 4). Norcross, John C [Ed]; VandenBos, Gary R [Ed]; Freedheim, Donald K [Ed]; Pole, Nnamdi [Ed] American Psychological Association http://proxy.lib.pacificu.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=psbk&AN=2015-46204-000
APA handbook of clinical psychology: Education and profession (Vol. 5). Norcross, John C [Ed]; VandenBos, Gary R [Ed]; Freedheim, Donald K [Ed]; Campbell, Linda F [Ed] American Psychological Association http://proxy.lib.pacificu.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=psbk&AN=2015-25842-000
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Kazdin, Alan E. (2000). APA
- Do a search for a topic or author in PsycBOOKS
- Left Hand Column
- Publication Type
- Encyclopedia
Subject Specific
Wiley Handbook of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy by
***Offers unrivalled coverage of CBT approaches to a full spectrum of mental disorders
***Contributors include many of the field’s leading experts
***Covers the full range of CBT strategies, including new developments in the field, such as attention retaining strategies, acceptance techniques, mindfulness meditation, and disorder-specific emotion regulation skills
***Provides practical guidance backed by a wealth of case studies
***Includes the latest techniques and empirical data
ISBN: 9781118533208Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science, Theory and Method by
4 volume set.
***Provides comprehensive coverage of developmental science, including detailed explanations of major theories and methods
***Completely revised to reflect significant advances in the field, including reconceptions of theory, cultural concerns, and applications
***Reflects the paradigm shift that involves increasingly greater understanding of how to describe, explain, and optimize the course of human life for diverse individuals living within diverse contexts
ISBN: 9781118952962Publication Date: 2015-03-31
Collections of Psychology ebooks
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window PsycBOOKS™ contains the full-text of scholarly book titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) in PDF format and is available on the Ovid platform.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window You can search for a topic across all of the 37 annual reviews. There are 3 psychology reviews: Psychology, Clinical Psychology, & Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior.
- Springer Behavioral Science and Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Includes access to 11 reference works: ***Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion; David A. Leeming (2014) ***Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology; Thomas Teo (2014) ***Comprehensive Guide to Autism; Vinood B. Patel, Victor R. Preedy… (2014) ***Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders; Fred R. Volkmar (2013) ***Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories; Robert W. Rieber (2012) ***Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development; Sam Goldstein Ph.D.… (2011) ***Encyclopedia of Adolescence; Roger J. R. Levesque (2011) ***Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology; Jeffrey S. Kreutzer, John DeLuca… (2011) ***Handbook of Clinical Psychology Competencies; Jay C. Thomas Ph.D., ABPP… (2010) ***Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion; David A. Leeming Ph.D.… (2010) ***Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology; Caroline S. Clauss-Ehlers Ph.D. (2010)
Up to Date
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 14 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database. Its physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. UpToDate includes treatment recommendations based on the best medical evidence, which are kept current as new studies are released and practices change.
If you have a health psychology use UptoDate to find evidence-based/current information on a disease or condition. Examples include: brain injury, ocd, diabetes, obesity, eating disorders, autoimmune disease.
UpToDate is a practical clinical reference designed to provide quick access to synthesized medical information in an easy-to-use format. It is comprised of thousands of original topic reviews written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations.
Check out the Patient Information handouts. They are especially useful in communicating with your client.