LibGuides: Optometry Resources: Article Databases & EBP Resources

Article Databases

These are primarily where you'll find your studies (e.g., randomized-controlled trials).

MEDLINE - PubMed (free site) This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which includes MEDLINE, the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
VisionCite This link opens in a new window
Note: Access information for Pacific University users has changed. Please click here to obtain the most up-to-date URL and login information:

VisionCite is a unique citation database of vision-related journal articles developed and maintained by the Illinois College of Optometry (ICO) Library. The database currently contains close to 335,000 citations from 1984-present. Over 114 periodicals are regularly indexed with approximately 12,000 citations added annually. Topics indexed cover optometry, ophthalmology, medical sciences, contact lenses, practice management, reading, perception, and other vision-related subjects.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 317 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, or Nursing & Allied Health Collection.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Some articles are available in full-text from Pacific University’s journal subscriptions via the Get full text article link.

Eye Diseases section of ClinicalTrials.gov
Eye Disease section of the larger ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Practice Guidelines are not intended to be construed or to serve as a standard of medical care. Standards of medical care are determined on the basis of all clinical data available.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to medical and surgical content including access to over several hundred e-books, e-journals, videos, images. This collection includes: emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine essentials, ophthalmology, pediatrics, and psychiatry.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
TRIP - Turning Research into Practice (free site) This link opens in a new window
The TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice)
• Is made to quickly provide evidence for clinical decision making
• Pulls information from Cochrane, National Guideline Clearinghouse, and Medline
• Allows you to search evidence based resources together, and very quickly.
• Includes a PICO search tool to help you in quickly searching the literature.
• Trip has been online since 1997
• Also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Contains - evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from many organizations. Including:

American Optometric Association
American Academy of Ophthalmology
Cochrane Eyes and Vision Group (CEVG)
This is a list of evidence-based research conducted by the CEVG. CEVG is part of the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals working to prepare, maintain and promote access to systematic reviews of interventions to treat or prevent eye diseases or visual impairment.

Mobile Ebooks Apps

Mobile Ebooks Apps
Download instructions for mobile ebooks apps including AccessMedicine, ClinicalKey, IBM Micromedex Drug Ref, and UpToDate.