LibGuides: Optometry Resources: Vision Science Research

Vision Science Videos

Vision Science Research: Slides to Accompany the Videos

Blurry videos? Change the YouTube video quality setting to view them in HD.

Systematic Reviews

When doing a systematic review, your goal is to find a complete or at least representative sample of available eligible studies on your topic. You'll need to search multiple sources and types of sources:

Multiple relevant databases: PubMed, VisionCite, Cochrane Library: CENTRAL Trials, CINAHL, Web of Science, ClinicalKey, Google Scholar
Reference lists of relevant articles
"Cited By" searching of relevant articles in PubMed, Web of Science, and Google Scholar
Contact authors
Conference proceedings (Web of Science, PubMed)
Dissertations & theses
ClinicalTrials.gov

MEDLINE - PubMed (free site) This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information, which includes MEDLINE, the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
VisionCite This link opens in a new window
Note: Access information for Pacific University users has changed. Please click here to obtain the most up-to-date URL and login information:

VisionCite is a unique citation database of vision-related journal articles developed and maintained by the Illinois College of Optometry (ICO) Library. The database currently contains close to 335,000 citations from 1984-present. Over 114 periodicals are regularly indexed with approximately 12,000 citations added annually. Topics indexed cover optometry, ophthalmology, medical sciences, contact lenses, practice management, reading, perception, and other vision-related subjects.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 317 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, or Nursing & Allied Health Collection.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalized features such as saved searches and alerts. Web of Science includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Natural Sciences Citation Index.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to medical and surgical content including access to over several hundred e-books, e-journals, videos, images. This collection includes: emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine essentials, ophthalmology, pediatrics, and psychiatry.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Some articles are available in full-text from Pacific University’s journal subscriptions via the Get full text article link.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier indexes over 13,000 periodicals with coverage in the social sciences, humanities, education, physical sciences, technology, medicine, etc. Full text is available for nearly 5,000 titles.
TRIP - Turning Research into Practice (free site) This link opens in a new window
The TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice)
• Is made to quickly provide evidence for clinical decision making
• Pulls information from Cochrane, National Guideline Clearinghouse, and Medline
• Allows you to search evidence based resources together, and very quickly.
• Includes a PICO search tool to help you in quickly searching the literature.
• Trip has been online since 1997
• Also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest indexes and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses submitted by participating colleges and universities.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (free site) This link opens in a new window
Open Access Theses and Dissertations is a database of open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world
Open Dissertations (free database) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic theses and dissertations from universities around the world; includes content from American Doctoral Dissertations.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (free site) This link opens in a new window
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
CommonKnowledge This link opens in a new window
CommonKnowledge is the home of the collected scholarship and creative works of Pacific University faculty, staff and students - and of their collaborators from around the world.

ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Eye Diseases section of ClinicalTrials.gov
Eye Disease section of the larger ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Contains - evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from many organizations. Including:

American Optometric Association
American Academy of Ophthalmology
AOA Optometric Clinical Practice Guidelines
AAO Preferred Practice Patterns

Zotero - Citation Management Software

Zotero
Zotero is an easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources (citations, full texts, web pages, images, and other objects), and lets you share the results of your research in a variety of ways.
Zotero Set Up Instructions
Learn how to install Zotero, set up your browser connector, create a Zotero account and set up syncing and log into your online Zotero account.
Using Zotero Instructions
Learn how to create a new collection in your Zotero library, create a Zotero group library, add sources to Zotero, add notes and tags to sources, select your preferred citation format, and add in-text citations and a bibliography to Word or Google Docs.
Zotero Guide
Learn how to install and use Zotero.

How to Customize a Style Format in Zotero

Do you want to create your own customized style format in Zotero? E.g., Maybe you noticed an error in an existing style format in Zotero that you want to correct or maybe a journal you're submitting to requires an extra field for all citation in the bibliography, such as adding the study type at the end of the citation.

Follow the instructions in the Editing CSL Styles - Step-by-Step Guide. It's not the simplest process, but it's doable. Please reach out to Jennifer Lantrip, Health Sciences Student Success Librarian, at lantrip@pacificu.edu for assistance.