LibGuides: Optometry Resources: Health Statistics

Why Statistics?

Statistics provide a valuable window into the state of health (and healthcare) within specific populations. Statistics can tell us which illnesses are most prevalent within a population, what risk factors to be aware of, what access to care issues exist, and more. It is important to know where to find relevant statistics - and how to read them.

Health Statistics Tutorial

Finding and Using Health Statistics

Health Statistics Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States is an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Healthy People 2030
Healthy People 2030 contains objectives that identify specific measures to monitor health and information on social determinants of health. Data for the population-based objectives is presented separately for select populations, such as racial, gender, educational attainment, or income.
National Center for Health Statistics
The US' principal health statistics agency, NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve health and healthcare. A unique public resource for health information.
National Institute of Mental Health
A valuable portal for statistics and other information. NIMH focuses on conducting and promoting research, with a particular emphasis on neuroscience and public health.
Office of Applied Studies (SAMHSA)
This Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration site provides the latest national data on substance abuse and mental health issues.
Health Insurance (US Census Bureau)
Provides the latest statistics on income, poverty and health insurance coverage in the United States.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (US DHHS)
MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
US Census Bureau
The primary source for United States Census data, covering a wide range of topics/issues.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Data includes statistics for core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, service coverage, and health systems, as well as data on infectious diseases.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data
National data and statistics on matters of public health importance.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
The NHANES program is unique in that it combines interviews with physical examinations and laboratory studies. NHANES adopted these three data collection modes to maximize the efficiency, quality, and accuracy of data collected.
Health Resources and Services Administation (DHHS)
Reports and data about access to care and other healthcare disparity issues.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
HSR Information Central was developed to serve the information needs of the health services research community. This site includes links to data sources and tools useful for health services research.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
This site contains many helpful reports related to healthcare access and utilization.

How to Search for Statistics on the Web

In addition to visiting specific websites to search for health statistics within those sites, you can also do Google searches. This can be helpful if you're unsure of where to start.
One thing that you will note if you click on all of the links above is that nearly all of them are from .gov websites since they're all providing data and statics from government agencies.
This means that you can use domain searching as an additional way to search for health statistics.
When searching Google, write your search terms and then write site:.gov. This will bring results that are related to your search results from websites that have .gov somewhere in the URL.

search terms site:.gov

Example:

ambulatory care site:.gov