LibGuides: PA 696 Clinical Graduate Project: Point-of-Care

Point of Care Resources

POC Resources
What are POC Resources?

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 14 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database. Its physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously. UpToDate includes treatment recommendations based on the best medical evidence, which are kept current as new studies are released and practices change.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides full-text access to over 95 e-textbooks, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, drug monographs, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, custom curriculum tool, and patient education handouts.

NOTE: In order to get access to study tools and review questions, you must set up a MyAccess account. To access these tools off campus, the account must be renewed by logging in on campus every 90 days. To learn more, read About MyAccess
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to medical and surgical content including access to over several hundred e-books, e-journals, videos, images. This collection includes: emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine essentials, ophthalmology, pediatrics, and psychiatry.

FirstConsult
Part of ClinicalKey. Evidence-based medicine tool with key information on differential diagnoses, medical conditions, procedures, and patient education. Updated weekly, First Consult uses data from National Guideline Clearinghouse, Cochrane systematic reviews, and Clinical Evidence as sources.

Point-of-care tools are those research and reference resources that a clinician can utilize immediately at the point-of-care with a patient. They are often easy to use and contain filtered information. Most of the evidence-based point-of-care tools include levels of evidence, rating scales or grade recommendations as well as citations back to the original research studies, systematic reviews, or guidelines.