LibGuides: PA 696 Clinical Graduate Project: EBM Resources

Evidence-based Resources

ACCESSSS Federated Search
Developed by McMaster University, ACCESSSS is an open access EBM search engine. Reviews over 120 journals; searchable database; provides ratings for each article; can set up email alerts; full-text is available through Pacific’s library only. Access notes: Free account is required.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to medical and surgical content including access to over several hundred e-books, e-journals, videos, images. This collection includes: emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine essentials, ophthalmology, pediatrics, and psychiatry.

DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Produced by the NHS (National Health Service) Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
Provides reviews of selected systematic reviews and includes discussion of the interventions and outcomes studied; the conclusions drawn; strengths and weaknesses of the review; and implications for practice. You can also search this database as part of the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile (Ovid) database.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Pre-set search filters to focus your search in 3 areas. (1) Clinical Study Categories: Select a Category (Etiology, Diagnosis, Therapy, Prognosis, or Clinical prediction guide) and a Scope (Broad or Narrow) to filter your search results. These options are available after you enter your search. (2) Systematic Reviews: Filters the search to include systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines on your topic. (3) Medical Genetics: Filters a disease search for articles about genetic diagnosis, clinical description, management, counseling, molecular genetics, and genetic testing.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
TRIP - Turning Research into Practice (free site) This link opens in a new window
The TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice)
• Is made to quickly provide evidence for clinical decision making
• Pulls information from Cochrane, National Guideline Clearinghouse, and Medline
• Allows you to search evidence based resources together, and very quickly.
• Includes a PICO search tool to help you in quickly searching the literature.
• Trip has been online since 1997
• Also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
(u.s.) Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)
The USPSTF is an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention. They systematically review the evidence of effectiveness and develop recommendations, considered the "gold standard," for clinical preventive services. Foreground questions.
Guidelines via ClinicalKey
Over 4,000 guidelines in this database. Search all or browse by authoring organization or specialty.
NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
(England & Wales) NICE clinical guidelines are recommendations on the appropriate treatment and care of people with specific diseases and conditions within the NHS in England and Wales. They are based on the best available evidence and aim to improve the quality of healthcare.
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs)
(Canada) The CMA Infobase is a public database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). Maintained by the Canadian Medical Association, it currently includes over 1200 CPGs developed or endorsed by an authorative medical or health organization in Canada.