1. You can find articles at Pacific through the Library Search Box. Additionally, there are many specialized databases that you can find in the A-Z list of databases. Try filtering the list of databases by subject to see the databases containing resources for your discipline. You can also visit the Subject Guides for guides to resources for your specific discipline. To find articles in the Library Search Box, enter your search terms and click Search.
2. You can filter your search results to specific types of articles using the filters under Resource Types. If you're specifically looking for articles in peer-reviewed journals, you can click the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter and click Apply Filters.
3. You should now be looking at articles related to your search terms from peer-reviewed journals. Browse through the results and change your search terms until you have found relevant search results. See the Find Articles video above or the Search page for search tips. When you find a relevant article, click on the article's title. You'll be brought to a page with information about this article. You can get the citation (remember to check all citations that are automatically generated from databases against the correct format) and the permalink (this is the permanent link that will bring you back to this page -- the URL in your web browser is not permanent and may break) for the article on this page. You will either see any options to get the full text of the article so that you can read it or a link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan can be very quick, so please use it when you need resources that are not readily accessible to you at Pacific's libraries. Contact the library with any questions. We can help you search for, find, and evaluate articles and other sources that you need and can help you with any issues you encounter along the way. We're here for you!
4. Now that you found your article, check out the Select Credible Sources page to help you think critically about the sources you found and the Read the Sources You Found page for tips on how to read sources such as academic articles. You're doing a great job! :-)
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Some articles are available in full-text from Pacific University’s journal subscriptions via the Get full text article link.
Learn how to request an article through Summit or Interlibrary Loan.
Having Trouble Accessing a Library Resource?
If you run into trouble accessing any library resource such as an ebook, article, or any of the library's databases, here are some tips to help you troubleshoot access. Please always feel free to ask us for help by chat, phone, email, or in-person.