Visit our children's and young adult collection, including our graphic novel collection, in the Tran Library in Forest Grove. The shelves are color coded to help you find what you're looking for. Come browse the shelves!
Digitized Historic Documents, Photographs and Media
Over 18,000 items from Pacific's Archives, Art and Museum collections have been digitized and can be searched via the Pacific University Digital Exhibits site. To find millions of other original digitized records and images from around the world, consult the detailed links and directions in our Primary Source Guide.
Historic Pacific University Records & Publications
Yearbooks, annual catalogues, over 100 years of the student newspaper, historic photographs, unpublished internal records of the university and other historic materials about Pacific University are housed in the Pacific University Archives on the second floor of Tran Library. Most of these items are not digitized, some can be searched via our Unique Collections Catalog. See the Archives Site for more details on how to arrange a visit.
In addition to holding records relating to Pacific itself, the Pacific University Archives contains numerous large collections of archival documents that are open for researchers. Some highlights include:
Governor Vic Atiyeh Collection
Congressman Les AuCoin Collection
Ellis Lucia Photographs and Papers
Forest Grove Indian School Collection
Diaries and Papers of Forest Grove area residents & Pacific alumni
Pacific University has maintained collections of historic museum objects since the 1940s. Highlights include artifacts from Pacific's past; historic optometry and other medical equipment; material relating to the early history of Forest Grove; collections gathered by early alumni on missionary trips to Asia and the Middle East; and Native American collections donated by alumni and local residents. The museum collections can be searched via our Unique Materials Catalog. Request access by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
Permanent Art Collection
Pacific University maintains a collection of roughly 1,400 art objects. About half of these objects are displayed on walls and in the hallways and offices of our campuses, while the remainder are in storage. Most of the art collection has been photographed and can be searched through our digital exhibit site on the Permanent Art Collection.
Books dating back to the 15th century as well as many rare editions of books relating to Pacific Northwest history, the Binford Publisher's Collection, rare imprints from the Lapwai Press and more are housed in Pacific's Rare Books Collection. Some, but not all of the collection has been cataloged. (Notably, a large collection of Historic Optometry materials is not yet cataloged.) Books that have been cataloged can be searched via the main library catalog search. Use the navigation tools to narrow down to Shelving Location = Archives, and request access by emailing email@example.com.