Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pacific University Libraries Strategic Plan: ALL INITIATIVES

Convene Community: Strategic Initiatives

Develop faculty learning communities to focus on specific pedagogical problems and issues

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: Piloted in FY18-19. Implementation in FY19-20.
  • Resources: Existing staff and budget. Program will be expanded when new faculty development staff is hired as outlined in “Embracing Curricular Innovation: Preliminary Proposal For Expanding CETCI Programming to Include Support for High-Impact Pedagogical Practices”
  • Assessment: Attendance; Participant Feedback

Develop orientation and support programs on teaching and learning from new faculty and adjuncts

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: Develop and pilot a new faculty learning community in FY19-20. Begin full implementation of learning community in FY20-21. Other components of the plan are dependent on funding as outlined in the “Embracing Curricular Innovation: Preliminary Proposal For Expanding CETCI Programming to Include Support for High-Impact Pedagogical Practices” and will be implemented within three academic years of that proposal being accepted.
  • Resources: Full implementation requires additional staffing as outlined in “Embracing Curricular Innovation: Preliminary Proposal For Expanding CETCI Programming to Include Support for High-Impact Pedagogical Practices” 
  • Assessment: Attendance; participant feedback; feedback from Deans and Directors; new faculty retention rate

Develop a University-wide faculty mentoring program

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: Initiative requires additional staffing as outlined in “Embracing Curricular Innovation: Preliminary Proposal For Expanding CETCI Programming to Include Support for High-Impact Pedagogical Practices” and will be implemented within two years of that proposal being funded.
  • Resources: Requires new staffing and funding as outlined in  “Embracing Curricular Innovation: Preliminary Proposal For Expanding CETCI Programming to Include Support for High-Impact Pedagogical Practices” 
  • Assessment: Participant feedback

Increase the range of student employment opportunities in the Libraries that provide professional development opportunities for students and meet Libraries service needs

  • Lead Department/Individual: Library Steering Team
  • Timeline: Assessment of current positions and identification of new departmental needs/position types, FY19-20
  • Resources: Funding for new student positions (identified through reallocation or new operational/endowment funds)
  • Assessment: Any need for new positions identified and funding secured by FY20-21

Identify new student positions within Libraries advisory or steering groups to provide a consistent student voice in Libraries planning

  • Lead Department/Individual: Dean of University Libraries/ Library Steering Team
  • Timeline: Assessment/identification of opportunities, FY19-20; New student roles launched, FY20-21
  • Resources: LST time
  • Assessment: Student roles identified and students successfully recruited; students report positive experience in steering/advisory groups

Academic Quality: Strategic Initiatives

Develop programs and services to reduce student textbook costs through adoption of OERs and low-cost materials.

  • Lead Department/Individual: OER Working Group
  • Timeline: Planning FY19-20; Pilot implementation FY20-21
  • Resources: Staff time FY19-20
  • Assessment: Completion of proposal for planned services in FY19-20; implementation and evaluation of pilots in FY20-21

Ensure library resources, services, and both physical and digital spaces meet appropriate accessibility guidelines and requirements

  • Lead Department/Individual: Accessibility Working Group
  • Timeline: Planning FY19-20; Implementation of priority activities FY20-21
  • Resources: Staff time FY19-20
  • Assessment: Completion of proposal as outlined in charge FY19-20; Implementation and evaluation of priority activities FY20-21

Provide students in all colleges, across all locations and distance learning environments, with access to peer tutoring to support subject-specific learning and writing across the disciplines

  • Lead Department/Individual: CLASS
  • Timeline: Services should be available to all students by FY21-22
  • Resources: Additional student workers; staff time for planning, training, and preparing additional tutors for online tutoring for distance learners
  • Assessment: Extent of availability of services: students in all colleges, from all campuses, should be able to access tutoring from their location. Tutoring must be available at suitable times for students in each program, and must be offered in a manner and at a frequency that is appropriate for the academic level, size, and need of each program.

Develop a certificate program for teaching and learning

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: Proposal developed and shared in AY19-20. Certificate piloted in FY20-21 and implemented in FY21-22
  • Resources: No extra resources are required.
  • Assessment: Number of certificates awarded; participant feedback; feedback from Deans, Directors, and other stakeholders.

Create a team of Student Success Mentors as part of CLASS to work with students 1-on-1 on navigating college life/expectations

  • Lead Department/Individual: CLASS
  • Timeline: Team launched FY21-22
  • Resources: Additional professional staff ; additional student workers; staff time for planning and training to prepare mentors to work with students
  • Assessment: Team is launched: mentors are hired, trained, and working directly with students.

Develop web resources for faculty on teaching and learning

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: First phase completed in FY19-20. Evaluation and implementation of next stages in FY19-20. Project completed with this evaluation and implementation.
  • Resources: No extra resources are required. 
  • Assessment: Use of materials in training and workshops; User feedback; Hits on website.

Lead adoption of, and administer, remotely hosted learning technologies, including Moodle, Zoom, PollEverywhere, and WordPress

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: Full proposal for Libraries adoption of Educational Technology support developed in FY19-20. Implementation dependent on funding of that proposal. 
  • Resources: Requires an integrated proposal to outline the services that will be adopted by the Libraries, the funding sources, and the additional staffing requirements. 
  • Assessment: User satisfaction; Adoption rates; Development of new services; Integration of educational technology services; Integration of library services into LMS and other platforms.

Create an additional research and instructional services librarian position to improve service to health professions and engineering

  • Lead Department/Individual: Dean of University Libraries
  • Timeline: FY20-21 or FY21-22
  • Resources: Funding for new faculty line
  • Assessment: Successful hiring and recruitment; increased contact with/support for health professions programs (instruction and research services).

Information Access: Strategic Initiatives

Ensure library resources are easily accessible in online learning environments

  • Lead Department/Individual: Collection Services/CETCI
  • Timeline: Assessment of opportunities for integration, FY20-21
  • Resources: Staff time.
  • Assessment: Completion of assessment, identification of strategies for resource integration, FY 20-21.

Improve management and maintenance of electronic collections

  • Lead Department/Individual: Collection Services
  • Timeline: FY19-20 - FY20-21
  • Resources: Funding for a ticketing system for internal and external audiences to report problems. Allows for more timely assistance, and for staff to identify and evaluate e-resources problems more quickly allowing for proactive data-driven decisions.
  • Assessment: Implementation of ticketing system; evidence of system data impacting response time and decision-making.

Ensure library collections appropriately reflect diversity of student, local, and regional communities

  • Lead Department/Individual: Collection Services
  • Timeline: Planning FY19-20; Implementation of recommendations FY20-21.
  • Resources: Staff time (to develop a plan to better understand the diversity of our community and how our collections intersect with their needs).
  • Assessment: Completed analysis by June 2020, with recommendations for implementation in FY20-21.

Create a sustainable framework for regular assessment of cost, usage, and impact of collections; initial focus on print collections

  • Lead Department/Individual: Collection Services
  • Timeline: Assessment of print periodical browsing collection FY19-20.
  • Resources: Staff time
  • Assessment: Usage data for collection.

Improve access to necessary physical materials for distance students and those located at partner sites (e.g. community college partners) through innovative resource purchasing/sharing models

  • Lead Department/Individual: Collection Services/Access Services
  • Timeline: Development of new service model for Eugene/Woodburn campuses FY19-20 (dependent on LCC partnership in Eugene)
  • Resources: Funding for consortium courier dropsite in Woodurn; funding for student assistant positions on Eugene/Woodburn campuses; staff time for supervision and management;
  • Assessment: Improved (speed/efficiency/reliability) movement of materials to Eugene/Woodburn campuses; improved student/faculty satisfaction with library services reported

Creation & Publication: Strategic Initiatives

Provide training and resources for student and faculty to produce educational multimedia and virtual reality artifacts

  • Lead Department/Individual: CETCI
  • Timeline: Develop VR and AR expertise with CETCI to develop VR and AR artifacts in FY19-20. Implement a pilot program in FY20-21.
  • Resources: Allocation of existing CETCI funds to buy VR and AR hardware and software. Allocation of CETCI funds for staff training in VR and AR.
  • Assessment: Number of VR and AR projects supported; Participant satisfaction.

Unique Collections: Strategic Initiatives

Position the Atiyeh Collection as a significant resource for study of political, social, global issues

  • Lead Department/Individual: Archives & Special Collections
  • Timeline: Launch Atiyeh Fellowship program FY19-20; Initial fellows FY20-21.
  • Resources: Atiyeh Fellowship endowment; staff time.
  • Assessment: Successful completion of initial funded fellowships in FY20-21.

Learning Spaces: Strategic Initiatives

Assess utilization and impact of Tran Library renovations

  • Lead Department/Individual: Dean of University Libraries / Libraries Assessment Lead
  • Timeline: Plan assessment strategy FY20-21; Implement assessment FY21-22
  • Resources: Staff time
  • Assessment: Successful completion of initial assessment activities in FY21-22, resulting in actionable feedback