LibGuides: SGP Resources: PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS FAQs, etc.

PsycTESTS^® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Info

PsycTESTS is a new database created by the American Psychological Association which specializes in indexing the literature of both commercial and non-commercial behavioral instruments.

So it shares coverage with both Health and Psychosocial Instruments (non-commercial instruments coverage) and Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print (commercial instruments coverage).

But unlike either of its competitor instrument databases, PsycTESTS is a predominantly full text database.

And unlike full text literature databases which only provide access to articles referencing instruments, this database makes accessible the full text of the instruments themselves.

So when you find relevant instrument references in PsycTESTS, you can usually link directly to the instrument questions in pdf.

PsycTESTS Video Tutorials

Finding the Tests This tutorial demonstrates 4 ways to browse the PsycTeSTS database
Reliability and Validity This tutorial demonstrates how to find reliability and validity data for tests in the PsycTESTS database via OvidSP
Fees, Permissions, and Other Factors This tutorial demonstrates a few of the factors you'll want to consider when reusing or adapting a test: fees, permissions, test availability, and reliability/validity.
Finding Supporting Documentation This tutorial demonstrates how to find supporting documentation for tests in the PsycTESTS database via OvidSP. Supporting documentation can be answer sheets, instructor/test manual/guides, student/study guides, test materials, directions/instructions, checklists, class record sheets, norms/analyses, lessons with tests, and other materials.
Citing PsycTESTS This tutorial walks you through how you create a reference for a PsycTESTS database record.
How to Submit Your Test PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to tests, measures, and instruments described in the scholarly literature, dissertations, technical reports, and books. The American Psychological Association invites authors of tests and measures in the behavioral sciences to contribute to the PsycTESTS database. This video demonstrates how to submit your test and outlines the benefits of having your test included in the database.
Using the Thesaurus in PsycTESTS Now that PsycTESTS is available on all of the major vendor platforms, we wanted to take a few minutes to demonstrate how our thesaurus (Subject Headings) has been integrated into this database. As you may know, APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms forms the backbone of our controlled vocabulary. It's updated regularly, with both additions and changes to existing terms. There are a lot of interesting features in the thesaurus, but in this tutorial we're going to focus just on how you can access it and bring the terms you find into your search. For more in-depth information about the thesaurus, use the links below to view the thesaurus tutorial for the platform you use to access APA databases.
How & Why to Use the Thesaurus (Subject Headings) (OvidSP)

Data Elements

Here is a list of the data collected for each test:

• AU Author

• AF Author Affiliation (& Corresponding Author Address)

• CB Construct - "what the test is intended to measure" (PsycTESTS, n.d.)

• PO Population

• SU Subjects

• Test Alternate Names

• TA Test Acronym

• TD Test Description

• TP Test Purpose

• TR Test Reliability

• VL Test Validity

• ZG Age Group

• ZQ Other Population Info

• ZS Supporting Documentation (type)

Comments (0)